University Marketing Committee

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice President for University Advancement

Number of Members: 46

Correct as of: January 2021

Purpose. To facilitate communication between and among the various units on the campus who are specifically engaged in marketing initiatives and those with a vested interest in the marketing of the university. It also serves a critical role in fostering a free exchange of creative ideas and efficient use of marketing resources. The committee’s responsibilities are as follows:

• Review and discuss annual marketing strategies for the department and units
• Promote effective communication and collaboration in planning and implementing initiatives
• Coordinate marketing activities in the best interests of the university
• Serve as an information clearing house regarding updates and innovations in marketing, especially as it relates to the use of Social Media
• Encourage creative discussion and synergy
• Function as a sounding board for the effectiveness of marketing concepts and program proposals
• Provide advice and counsel to the AVP Marketing & Communications on issues relating the university’s brand and the use of logos and marks
• Provide an environment where information and education can be disseminated regarding marketing techniques and strategies
• Seek to make the most effective use of financial resources by cooperative purchases of print, video and electronic media whenever possible
• Annually assess the overall effectiveness of marketing on the campus 

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments.  This is a standing committee.  When needed, nominations are submitted by the chair of the committee. 

Chair Appointment. The President appoints the chair.

Committee Members


Kristina Kaskel-Ruiz, Associate Vice President, Marketing & Communications

Indefinite Term 

Steven Begnaud III, Assistant Director, Student Activities
Deana Briones, Administrative Coordinator, Humanities and Social Sciences
Megan Buro, Marketing Coordinator, Samuel Houston Museum
Meghan Burton, Marketing Coordinator, Enrollment Management
Julie Campbell, COBA Program Coordinator
Carla Clark, Assistant Director, EMC
Christine Coursey, Academic Technology Specialist, COM
Melissa Fadler, Associate Director, Recreational Sports
Darian Fisher, Assistant Director, Marketing/Guest Services
Michael Foster, Video Producer, Communications
Rebecca Gay, Assistant Director for Admissions, COM
Donna Gilbert, Assistant Director, Alumni Membership & Marketing
Shelie Goodwin, Comm and Recruitment Coordinator, Education
Weslie Gray, Assistant to the Dean, CAM
Wes Hamilton, University Comm Manager, Communications
Hannah Haney, Communications & Events Specialist, COM
Victor Henson II, CJ Communication & Events
David Hernandez
, Senior Graphic Coordinator, Communications
Sherry Hirsch, Assistant to the Dean,  Education
Maria Holmes, Associate Director, Honors College
Trevor Isaminger, Specialist, Athletics
Stephanie Knific, Director of Marketing & Comm, PIO, Communications
Lindsay Lauher, Assistant Dean, Student Engagement & Retention & Parent & Family Relations
Karen Leonhart
, Administrative Coordinator, COHS
Russell Martinez, Associate Director of Athletics, Development
Jade Mehaffie, Undergraduate Coordinator Career & Technology
Harriet McHale, CJ Marketing Coordinator
Charlene McWilliams, Director of University Events, Office of the President
Isaac Moen, Assistant Director, Marketing 
Leah Mulligan, Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management
Debbie Nichols, Assistant to VP, Office of Student Affairs
Mekayla Perkins, Specialist, Office of Student Affairs
Lori Proctor, Assistant Director of Print Services, Press
Sierra Ray, Program Marketing Specialist, Enrollment Management
Joe Reed, Coord. Sponsorships, Programs & Marketing, Alumni Relations
Heather Robbins, Administrative Associate, COBA
Shani Robinson, Associate Dean, COBA
DeLynn Say, Administrative Coordinator, Sciences and Engineering Technology
Emily Schulze, Associate Director of Communications, Communications
Mauri Smith, Associate Director of Online Marketing, Enrollment Management
Bri Smith, Assistant Director, EMC
Chelsea Smith, Sr Associate Dean of Students, Office of Dean of Students
Stephanie Smith, Marketing/Comm Coordinator, IT
Pamela Ten Eyck, Associate Director for Enrollment Marketing
Amy Bass Wilson, Associate Director of Creative Services, Communications 

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Tama Hamrick
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394