Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Accomplishments Committee, Faculty

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 7

Faculty 7

Correct as of: August 2019

Purpose. Encourages research at all levels within the University Faculty and provides recognition for such performance; determines the criteria by which monetary awards and possibly other forms of recognition are to be given to faculty members who display excellence in research to the University community; and determines the recipients of a $5,000 monetary award for excellence in research to the University community. Members of the committee are not eligible for nomination.

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments from University Faculty Senate nominations.  The committee consists of seven members serving two-year rotating terms expiring at the end of the fiscal year (three members to rotate off the committee in odd-numbered years and four members to rotate off the committee in even-numbered years).

Chair Appointment. The chair is elected by the committee members and will serve a one-year term ending August 31.

Note: Past Winners of this award can be found here

Committee Members

Term for Chair expires August 31, 2020:

Karla Eidson*, Chair

Terms expire August 31, 2020

Karla Eidson, Education
Madeline Swortwood, Criminal Justice
Deborah Popham, Arts and Media
Chelsea Ratcliff, Humanities and Social Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2021

Youn Oh Kim, Business Administration
Dhitinut Ratnapradipa, Health Sciences
Qingzhong Liu, Science & Engineering Technology

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: heatheradams@shsu.edu