Student Disciplinary Hearing Committee

Appointed By: President

Reports to: Vice President for Student Affairs

Number of Members:  30

Faculty:  12

Staff:  6

Students:  12

Updated:  September 1, 2023

Purpose: Assists with the resolution of student grievances in the manner prescribed in the code of student conduct.

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments. The University Faculty Senate nominates twelve full-time faculty with alternating two-year terms ending August 31.  Six staff members are appointed by the President with alternating two-year terms ending August 31. The Student Government Association also submits twelve nominees to serve one-year terms expiring at the end of the academic year (May 31); students may be assigned to assist with the resolution of matters that do not involve potential violations of the Sexual Misconduct Policy.

Chair Appointment. The President designates a permanent chair.  The Chair serves an indefinite term.

Committee Members

Chris Mahlen, Campus Recreation


Faculty Representatives

Terms expire August 31, 2024
Lautrice Nickson, College of Education

Hannah Menendez, Newton Gresham Library
Jonathan Bryson, College of Arts and Media
Ray Newman, College of Health Science
Sureni Mullegama, College of Osteopathic Medicine

Terms expire August 31, 2025
Diana Brown, College of Business Administration
Leslie Anglesey, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Miltonette Craig, College of Criminal Justice
Magdalena Denham, College of Criminal Justice
Sumith Yesudasan Daisy, College of Science and Engineering Technology
Andrea Beerwinkle, College of Education
Brett Porter, Newton Gresham Library

Staff Representatives

Terms expire August 31, 2024
Dana Grant, Residence Life
Joe Campo, Lowman Student Center
Rachel Valle, Student Activities, Campus Activities & Traditions

Terms expire August 31, 2025
Meredith Conrey, Leadership Initiatives
John Merryman, Campus Recreation
Michelle Castanon, Counseling Center

Student Representatives

Terms expire May 31, 2024
Jared Scott, Student
Nicole Ivory, Student
Madelyn Hemping, Student
Jared Taylor, Student
Piper Cheng, Student
Rianna Flores, Student
Sebastian Garcia, Student
Maria Rojas-Caballero, Student
April Salmeron, Student
Alysia Underwood Student
Alison Ulloa, Student
TBA, Student

To Report Errors
All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Lila Alvarado