Curriculum Committee

Appointed by: Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members:  21

Administrators: 9

Faculty: 11

Ex-Officio: 2

Updated:  September 1, 2023

Purpose. The committee is charged with reviewing for academic integrity the curriculum requests to resolve conflicts to the extent possible. This includes the responsibility of carefully reviewing the curriculum submissions to determine if the information provided for all requests for new programs and/or courses are complete, to analyze proposed additions and changes in courses in the interest of identifying areas of possible overlap or duplication, and to work toward a resolution of potential problems before the matters come up for discussion by the Academic Affairs Council. It is expected that committee members will be knowledgeable of the details of the curriculum submissions from their respective colleges to respond to most questions, which may arise in committee meetings.

Member Appointments. The Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs makes all appointments from nominations submitted by the academic deans (Associate Deans and faculty members), the Director of the Newton Gresham Library (Library faculty member), and the University Faculty Senate (Chair-elect). The committee consists of one associate or assistant dean from each academic college who serves on the college-level curriculum committee; one faculty member from each academic college who serves on the respective departmental curriculum committee (if relevant) and college curriculum committee; one faculty member from the Newton Gresham Library; one representative from Academic Affairs; and ex-officio members to include one staff member from the Student Advising and Mentoring Center and one staff member from the Registrar's Office. The associate deans, library representatives, and ex-officio members serve indefinite terms; the remaining faculty members serve two-year terms ending August 31 with half of the appointments expiring each year.

Co-Chair Appointment. One faculty member is nominated each year by the University Faculty Senate to serve as a faculty Co-Chair-Elect for the committee, serving the following year as Co-Chair.  The faculty Co-Chair serves a one-year term ending August 31. The Director of Academic Planning and Program Development serves an indefinite term as the staff Co-Chair of the committee.

Committee Members

Co-Chair - Indefinite Term
Dawn Caplinger, Staff, Co-Chair

Co-Chair - Term expires, August 31, 2024
Deborah Popham, Faculty, Co-Chair

Co-Chair Elect - Term expires August 31, 2024
Deborah Hatton, College of Arts and Media

Terms expire August 31, 2024
Laura Burleson, College of Health Sciences
Lesley Gardiner, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Lesley Hughes, College of Arts and Media

Terms expire August 31, 2025
Russell Lundberg, College of Criminal Justice
Tom Cox, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Doug Berg, College of Business Administration
Seth Olson, College of Education
Junkun Ma, College of Science and Engineering Technology

Indefinite Terms
Michael Hanson, Director of Library Technical Services, Newton Gresham Library
Natalie Hegwood, Associate Dean, College of Business Administration
Dustin Jones, Interim Associate Dean, College of Science and Engineering Technology
Mia Long Anderson, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Media
Janet Mullings, Associate Dean, College of Criminal Justice
Carroll Nardone, Associate Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Ryan Zapalac, Associate Dean, College of Health Sciences
Courtney West, Associate Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Dustin Hebert, Associate Dean of Accountability, College of Education
Patrick Lewis, Associate Dean, Honors College

Ex-Officio Members
Edgard Sanchez, Office of the Registrar

Justin Vick, Student Advising and Mentoring Center

To Report Errors
All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Lila Alvarado