Ring Committee

Appointed by:  President

Reports to:  Vice President for Student Affairs

Number of Members:  20

Faculty:  2

Staff:  16

Students:  2

Ex-Officio:  1

Updated:  September 2022

Purpose. To organize the University Ring Ceremony, co-sponsored by the Vice President for Student Affairs office and the SHSU Alumni Association. This is a working committee that coordinates, implements, and promotes the Official University Ring Ceremony held annually.

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments. These appointments are made by virtue of position.

Committee Members

Charlie Vienne, Associate Vice President of Alumni Relations

Brandon Cooper, Director, Student Activities

Faculty Representatives
Lee Miller, Chair, Faculty Senate
Melinda Miller, College of Education

Staff Representatives
Justin Ball, President, Staff Senate

Ed Chatal, Associate Director of Facilities for Recreational Sports
Debbie Nichols, Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs
Charles Hensons, Director of Creative Services, SHSU Online
Hollie Garza, Alumni Association Event Coordinator

Cody Holmes, Military Science
Charlene McWilliams, Executive Director of University Events
Julie Hlozek, Disability Services
Kevin Morris, Director, Public Safety Services
Stephanie Knific, Director, Marketing and Communications

Megan Buro, Marketing Manager, Sam Houston Memorial Museum
John Adams, Director, Facilities Campus Services

Student Representatives
Marsalis Johnson, Homecoming King
Bria Ferrier, Homecoming Queen

Scott McCarley, President-Elect, Alumni Board of Directors

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Tama Hamrick
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: thamrick@shsu.edu