Elevate Wellness Program Committee

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice President for Student Affairs

Total Members: 26 *  **

Committee Officers:  4

Standing Members: 5

Volunteer General Members: Up to 10

Student Members: 4

Updated:  September 2022

* Includes Chair and Co-Chair
**Depends on the number of Volunteer General Members)

Purpose. To create a healthy campus culture and environment at Sam Houston State University through collaboration with campus and community partners on programs, services, and initiatives that address all dimensions of wellness. 

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments from nominations submitted by the Vice President of Student Affairs.  The committee will consist of up to 22 members including the Chair, Co-Chair, Treasurer, Secretary, Program Director, and a Marketing/Webmaster.  Standing membership will consist of one University Faculty Senate Representative, one Staff Senate Representative, one representative from the Dean of Students Office, and one representative from Human Resources.  The remainder of the committee will consist of up to 10 volunteer general members who will serve two semesters at a minimum and may serve longer.

Chair Appointment:  By virtue of position, the Director of Student Health Services will serve as Chair for an indefinite term.

Co-Chair Appointment:  The President appoints a Co-Chair from nominations submitted by the Vice-President of Student Affairs and will serve a 2-year term.

Committee Members

Chair - Indefinite Term
Erica Bumpurs, Director of Student Health Services

Co-Chair - Term Expires August 31, 2023
Melissa Fadler, Associate Director, Recreation Sports

Treasurer - Indefinite Term
Erica Bumpurs, Director of Student Health Services

Secretary - Terms Expires August 31, 2023
Megan Hobbs-Barrett, College of Health Sciences

Program Director - Term Expires August 31, 2023
Lara Patterson, Assistant Director, Recreation Sports

Marketing/Webmaster - Term Expires August 31, 2023
Taylor Dusek, Office of Health Promotion

Standing Members - Term Expires August 31, 2023
Jamie Hinojosa, University Faculty Senate representative
Stacie Szaal, Staff Senate representative
Lindsey Lauher, Dean of Students Office representative
Cynthia Bennett, Human Resources representative

Volunteer General Members - Term Expires May 31, 2023
Lauren Dougherty, College of Health Science
Kathleen Gilbert, College of Health Science
Maria Munoz, College of Health Science
Mindy Oden, Department of Kinesiology
Anne Weathersby, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Jenna Bothell, Recreation Sports

Student Members - Term Expires May 31, 2023
Courtney Odom, Student Government Association representative

Juan Hernandez, Orange Keys representative
Linsey Lunceford, Student Legal Services representative
Lessly Contreras, Sam Houston Association of Medical Oriented Students (SHAMOS) representative

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Tama Hamrick
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: thamrick@shsu.edu