University Assessment Committee

Appointed By: Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports To: Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 18

Purpose: The committee's purpose is to continually improve the quality of students' education and their higher education experience by focusing on annual programmatic and core curriculum assessment. The committee will discuss issues related to assessment of academic programs, support units, and the THECB's Core Learning Objectives, with a focus on use of the data for continuous improvement. Members will share best practices regarding annual programmatic assessment and meta-assessment processes and collaborate on new ideas to improve assessment practices at SHSU.

Member Appointments: The Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs appoints all members. The Chair, Co-Chair, and academic college representatives will serve by virtue of position for indefinite terms. Membership includes an Assistant or Associate Dean, or appropriate representative (e.g., Director of Assessment), from each of the academic colleges, who are responsible for assessment activities within their college; an Associate or Assistant Vice President from each division (excluding Academic Affairs); and a representative from the Office of the President. The Director of the Office of Assessment will represent the Division of Academic Affairs. The Senior Vice President or Vice President of each division will nominate one Associate or Assistant Vice President to serve a two-year term. The Deputy to the President will nominate a representative for non-division units that report directly to the Office of the President (e.g., Athletics) to serve a two-year term.

Chair Appointment: The Director of the Office of Assessment serves as Chair of the committee.

Co-Chair Appointment: The Associate Director of the Office of Assessment serves as Co-Chair of the committee.

Ex-Officio: The Assessment Coordinator in the Office of Assessment serves as an ex-officio member. Additional ex-officio membership may include other support staff with assessment as part of their primary responsibilities and reflected in their titles, as requested by the academic colleges or divisions.

Committee Members


Brandi Jones, Office of Assessment



Tama Hamrick, Office of Assessment


Indefinite Term by Virtue of Position

Danielle Boisvert, College of Criminal Justice

Dustin Hebert, College of Education

Dusty Jones, College of Science and Engineering Technology

Jennifer Bunn, College of Health Sciences

Leif French, College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Michael Henderson, College of Arts and Media

Natalie Hegwood, College of Business Administration

Kevin Kalinowski, College of Osteopathic Medicine


Term Expires August 31, 2026

Josh Reynolds, Office of the President

Kevin Morris, Division of Finance and Operations

Russell Martinez, Division of Integrated Marketing Communications

Kristina Beltran, Division of Strategic Enrollment and Innovation

TBA, Division of Student Affairs

Leah Mulligan, Division of University Advancement



Rachel Bubela, Office of Assessment

Lori Rodriguez, College of Criminal Justice

To Report Errors
All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Lila Alvarado