Our Administration

Sam Houston State University is a member of the Texas State University System headquartered in Austin, Texas. The Texas State University System is the oldest multi-campus system in Texas and is a major factor in the educational and economic development of Texas. The System is governed by a nine member Board of Regents appointed by the governor. A nonvoting student regent is appointed to the Board on an annual basis. The System is led by Chancellor Brian McCall.

The SHSU President's Leadership Team consists of a Senior Cabinet and an Extended Cabinet. Their purpose is to study, review, and make recommendations on matters brought up by committee members, to consider university-wide issues and make recommendations where appropriate, to disseminate information, and to coordinate, where necessary, university-wide activities and policies. Members of the President's Leadership Team include:

Senior Cabinet

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
Chief Finance Officer and Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations
Senior Vice President for Strategic Enrollment and Innovation
Vice President for University Advancement
Vice President for Student Affairs
Chief Strategy Officer
Director of Athletics
Deputy to the President

Extended Cabinet

Interim Vice Provost
Vice President for Facilities Operations & Management
Interim Vice President for Information Technology
Interim Chief Diversity Officer

In addition to the President's Cabinet, Sam Houston State University Faculty Senate, the Council of Academic Deans, Academic Policy Council, Academic Affairs Council, Staff Council, and other University-sanctioned groups function to better the University.