Excellence in Service, Faculty

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Number of Members: 8

Faculty 8

Correct as of: August 2019

Purpose. Encourages service at all levels within the University Faculty and provides recognition for such performance; determines the criteria by which monetary awards and possibly other forms of recognition are to be given to faculty members who display excellence in service to the University community; and determines the recipients of a $5,000 monetary award for excellence in service to the University community. Members of the committee are not eligible for nomination.

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments from University Faculty Senate nominations.  The committee consists of a faculty member from each of the academic colleges and the Newton Gresham Library.  Faculty serve rotating two-year terms ending August 31.

Chair Appointment. The chair is elected by the committee members and will serve a one-year term.

Note: Past Winners of this award can be found here.

Committee Members

Term for Chair expires August 31, 2020:

Lory Haas*, Chair

Terms expire August 31, 2020

Melissa Glasscock, Arts & Media
Willis Oyugi, Humanities & Social Sciences
Lory Haas*, Education
Marianne Moore, Health Sciences
Ryan Randa, Criminal Justice

Terms expire August 31, 2021

Susan Strickland, Newton Gresham Library
Samuel Adu-Prah, Science & Engineering Technology
Christian Raschke, Business Administration

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: heatheradams@shsu.edu