Faculty & Staff

Our grand ole University began in 1879 with only five instructors for 109 students and although our student population has grown to nearly 16,800, our faculty to student ratio remains at 1:20. Over 70% of SHSU’s faculty hold doctoral or terminal degrees. SHSU is recognized by the Carnegie Commission on Higher Education as a Doctoral Research University.

Our strong faculty members have received numerous prestigious awards including:

  • Dr. Jim Olson
    • Professor of the Year, Texas, for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching
      Carnegie Endowment for Education

  • Dr. Ty Cashion
    • Texas Institute of Letters

  • Dr. Jim Bexley
    • Dallas Federal Reserve Board

  • Dr. Jerry Cook
    • National Science Foundation

  • Dr. Mary Nichter
    • Counseling Supervisor of the Year
      Texas Association for Counselor Education and Supervision

Our hard-working staff is an important part of our community. Every day they promote a positive and collaborative work environment as our grand University marches beyond our 130th year of educating and serving our community, the state of Texas and beyond.