Academic Scholarship Committee

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice Provost

Number of Members: 7

Ex officio 1

Staff  6

Correct as of September 2018

Purpose. Serves to comply with state requirements and provides a modicum of control and standardization for the awarding of all academic scholarships at Sam Houston State University.

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments.  The committee is a standing committee. Members with indefinite terms include the Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Dean of Graduate Studies, Director of Admissions, Dean of the Honors College, and Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management as well as a representative from the Scholarship Office who serves as an ex-officio member.

Chair Appointment. By virtue of position, the Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
serves as chair.

Committee Members


Mary Robbins, Vice Provost


Ken Hendrickson, Dean of Graduate Studies
Chris Maynard, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Scot Mertz, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management
Angie Taylor,  Director of Admissions
Kimberly Bell, Dean of Honors College

Ex officio Member

Lisa Namken, Scholarship Coordinator

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Heather Adams
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394