Enhancing Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (EURECA) Advisory Committee

Appointed by:  Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reports to:  Vice Provost

Number of Members:  20

Faculty:  14

Administrators/Staff:  6

Updated:  September 2021

Purpose. Studies and develops plans that advance the culture of scholarly and creative excellence by facilitating, enhancing, and supporting undergraduate students in discipline-specific inquiry and educating undergraduate students about how it enriches the academic experience and helps them realize professional goals.  Assists deans with developing discipline-specific inquiry in their colleges that further enhances the culture of undergraduate research and creative activities at SHSU.  Serves as an advisory body for the selection of summer research teams and student travel awards.

Member Appointments. The Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs make all faculty appointments from nominations submitted by the academic deans.  The committee consists of two representatives from each academic college, with staggered two-year terms.  Additionally, the director (or their designated representative) of the McNair program, Student Success Initiatives, the Elliott T. Bowers Honors College, and Newton Gresham Library serve indefinite terms. 

Chair Appointment. By virtue of position, the director of the EURECA Center, who is appointed by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, serves as the chair of the EURECA Advisory Council.

Committee Members


Madhusudan Choudhary, College of Science and Engineering Technology

Faculty - Terms expire August 31, 2022

Mitchel Roth, College of Criminal Justice
Jaime Coyne, College of Education
Jessica Simorte,
 College of Arts and Media
Jennifer Didier, College of Health Sciences
Bart Stykes, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Chris Hobbs, College of Science and Engineering Technology

Faculty - Terms expire August 31, 2023

Josh Manculich, College of Arts and Media
Emily Cabaniss, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Jason Ingram, College of Criminal Justice
Tiffany Maldonado, College of Business Administration
Kamphol Wipawayangkool, College of Business Administration
Andrey Koptelob, College of Education
Don Albert, College of Science and Engineering Technology
Basem Boutros, College of Health Sciences

Administrators/Staff - Indefinite Terms

Lydia Fox, McNair Scholars Program
Kay Angrove, Student Success Initiatives
Tracy Bilsing, Elliott T. Bowers Honors College
Lisa Shen, Newton Gresham Library

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Tama Hamrick
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394
Email: thamrick@shsu.edu