Campus Sustainability Committee

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice President of Finance and Operations

Number of Members: *

Faculty: 2

Staff: 4


Student: 1

Administrative: 1

*To be determined by number of at-large nominees

Correct as of: August 2020

Purpose. Provides a forum for communicating more effectively among administrators, students, staff and faculty about sustainability and sustainable practices; studies and develops plans and recommendations for sustainability initiatives on the SHSU campus; and fosters an active partnership with the Huntsville community to promote joint sustainability ventures.

Member Appointments. The President makes all appointments.  Staff Council nominates one staff representative; University Faculty Senate nominates one faculty representative; the Vice President for Student Affairs nominates one Student Affairs representative; the Vice President of Finance and Operations nominates one representative from Utilities and Energy Management; the Student Government Association nominates one student representative. Faculty and Staff members serve two-year terms ending August 31; student members serve an one-year term ending May 31.  By virtue of positions, the Director of Building and Landscape Services, the Director of Marketing and Communications, and the Huntsville City Manager (or designated representative from the city) serve indefinite terms.  When the position is vacant, the City Manager or his/her designated representative is nominated by the committee co-chairs.  Up to four at-large members (faculty or staff) are nominated as needed by the committee co-chairs and serve two-year terms.

Chair Appointment. Co-chairs are appointed by the President from nominations by Staff Council and University Faculty Senate and serve two-year staggered terms ending August 31. 

Committee Members 

Term expires August 31, 2021

Rachel Allison, Co-Chair (Staff)

Term expires August 31, 2022

Mark Leipnik, Co-Chair (Faculty)

Terms expire August 31, 2021

Stacie Szaal, Staff Council
Baburhan Uzum, University Faculty Senate
Lara Patterson, Student Affairs
Matt Roberts, Utilities & Energy Management/Facilities Management

Terms expire May 31, 2021

Cydnii Daniels, Student Government Association

Indefinite Terms

Evan Anderson, Building & Landscaping Services (Administrator)
TBD, City of Huntsville
Stephanie Knific, Marketing & Communications


Terms expire August 31, 2022

TBD, Utility Manager, Facilities Management

Terms expire August 31, 2021

Robert Lane, Science and Engineering Technology

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
Tama Hamrick
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2394