1884 Photograph

The 1884 Photograph


This photograph was made in 1884 when Raffaele Coppola (who stands in the center of the photo) had assumed the role of capobanda. The picture was owned originally by Cirillo Pozzali who played Second Trumpet at the rate of 300 Lira per year, i.e., he played the second or third part. He is in the picture, though yet unidentified. Pozzali wrote the date March 4, 1884 twice on the back of the photo. One artifact of old pictures was the very long exposure time needed for such a photo, resulting in closed eyes. Someone (assumed to be Pozzali) has used a sewing needle to put pupils in the closed eyes. With forensic preparation, the entire membership of this band may be identified as Pozzali listed all of the band members along the back of the photo; however, time and rubbing against a wall has all but obliterated this information. At this time only Roberto Haagen and Achille Bissocoli can be absolutely identified. A special bonus here is Pozzali's addition of the dates of the deaths of many people in the photo. The photograph passed from Pozzali to his sister (whose name is lost) and then to her son Giuseppe Ghisi. Finally, the photo came into the possession of his daughter Giuseppina Ghisi who passed away in 2004. The photo now belongs to the Dipartimento di scienze musicologiche e paleografico-filologiche located in Cremona.

Roster of the 1884 Band

Created from a document in the Archivio di Stato in Cremona

Cesare Sala Flauto con obbligo l’Ottavino L500
Gaetano Alessi Primo Clarino inoltre solista coll’obbligo del Clarone L795
Francesco Canni Primo Clarino di spalla coll’obbligo del Clarone e di supplire il Primo L600
Francesco Ottoboni Primo Clarino Sib coll’obbligo di supplire il Mib L550
Pietro Ottoboni Primo Clarino da Fila L450
Michele D'Alessandro Primo Cornetto solista L1200
Alessandro Davo Cornetto di spalla coll’obbligo di supplire il Primo L500
Achille Bissocoli Prima Tromba solista L900
Edoardo Belforti Prima Tromba di spalla coll’obbligo di supplire la Prima L600
Antonio Manfredi Primo Flicorno Basso solista L650
Palmiro Muncher Primo Bombardino solista L650
Antonio Lecchi Primo Corno L575
Francesco Tavoltare Primo Corno di spalla L400
Alessandro Fantini Primo Trombone solista coll’obbligo di supplire i Bombardini L600
Carlo Boselli Primo Basso in Fa L550
Roberto Haagen Bombardone in Mib L800
Francesco Berneri Bombardone in Sib coll’obbligo di supplire il Mib L600
Luigi Avalle Gran Cassa L550

Second Level

Roberto Manzoni Clarino da fila L350
Giovanni Meronghi Clarino da fila L325
Pietro Bisoni Clarino da fila L200
Angelo Bettoni Clarino da fila L200
Costantino Toscani Seconda Tromba L300
Cirillo Pozzali Seconda Tromba L300
Camillo Badolotti Seconda Tromba L225
Francesco Giovardi Seconda Tromba L200
Giovanni Ubi Secondo Flicorno Basso coll’obbligo di supplire il primo L300
Giuseppe Grazioli Secondo Corno L300
Stefano Lombardi Genis L200
Ernesto Maiocchi Secondo trombone d’accompagnato coll'obbligo di supplire il Primo L350
Giovanni Franchi Terzo Trombone L300
Uvigino Tognoni Secondo Basso in Fa coll’obbligo di supplire il Primo L300
Luciano Feraboli Flicorno Alto in Sib L300
Gualtiero Digiani Flicorno Alto in Sib L300
Giuseppe Ferrari Tamburro ed inserviente L330
Francesco Dedonati Piattista coll’obbligo di supplire Gran Cassa ed inserviente L350