2020 SHSU College of Science & Engineering Technology Awards 

The Sam Houston State University College of Science and Engineering Technology recognizes significant achievements in research, teaching, and service by members of our college, both faculty and students. 

The COSET Awards of Excellence are now open for nominations for Excellence in Student Teaching, Excellence in Student Research, Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching, and for tenured/tenure-track faculty, Excellence in Teaching, Excellence in Service, and Excellence in Research. The COSET committee that will evaluate the applications consists of Dr. Shyam Nair (Agricultural Sciences), Dr. William I. Lutterschmidt (Biological Sciences), Dr. Ilona Petrikovics (Chemistry), Dr. Mingkul Wei (Computer Science), Dr. Junkun Ma (Engineering Technology), Dr. Gang Gong (Geography and Geology), Dr. Beth Cory (Mathematics and Statistics), and Dr. Hui Fang (Physics). Dr. William I. Lutterschmidt is serving as chair.

All nominations and supplemental materials must be sent to Dr. William I. Lutterschmidt at

Details on the applications for each of the awards can be found here.


Timeline for the Award Process

Award nominations can be submitted to Dr. William I. Lutterschmidt from Monday February 3, 2020 until Friday Feb 28, 2020. Nominees will be contacted by Dr. Lutterschmidt- complete applications with supplemental materials must be submitted by the nominee to Dr. Lutterschmidt by March 27, 2020. Completed applications will be reviewed in April by the COSET Awards of Excellence Committee and recommendations made to the Dean by the end of the semester. The Dean will contact winners and those not recommended by the end of May. Award winners will be recognized at the Fall 2020 COSET Faculty meeting.

New this year: All Faculty winners will receive $1000 in funds for their use related to teaching, research, and service activities. Student winners will receive $500 Barnes and Noble gift card.


Data for awards from previous years can be viewed here.