Service Awards

Service Awards


The Alumni Association presents this award to individuals who demonstrate a continued interest in the university and/or Alumni Association through their contributions of time, talent, influence, and/or funds. These individuals must exude pride and loyalty of the Sam Houston State University motto "The Measure of a Life is its Service."

Individuals eligible can be alumni, faculty, staff or friends of the university.

( Alphabetical Listing )

2019 Recipients
Joe Amato
Joe Folk
2018 Recipients
Bill D. Baldwin
Carol Hail Weller
2017 Recipients
Susan S. Lenamon
Albert M. "Buddy" McCaig, Jr.
2016 Recipients
Nan McRaven
Jerry Streater
2015 Recipients
John Peltier 
Alan Tinsley
2014 Recipients
Dr. James B. Bexley
Jon and Barbara Grady Bright

2013 Recipients

Dr. Wilfred Dietrich


 2012 Recipients
 Yolanda Green Frank "Poncho" Roberts
 Tommy Metcalf Don Strickland
 2011 Recipients
 Doris Gimpel Cindy Pierce
 Karen Gray Billy Smith
 John & Nancy Hoyt Scott McCarley
 2010 Recipients
 Dan Beto Gordon Brown
 Nancy Gaertner John McManners
 Erin Steele
 2009 Recipients  
 Dennis Culak Kerry Murray
 Marie Hayden Joe and Winnie Sandel
 2008 Recipients  
 Thomas F. Davis Michael P. O'Day
 Lois W. Kolkhorst Billy F. Ringo
 George D. Miles W. Greg Smith
 2007 Recipients  
 Tom Freeman John Magee
 James F. Hanscom Michael Murray
 Robert "Bobby" Lane Chris Thompson
 2006 Recipients  
 Lunelle Anderson Herman Smith
 Bobby K. Marks Gene Sollock
 Ron Randleman Robb M. Stevenson
 2005 Recipients
 Ron Goethals Patricia Shell
 H.P. "Hap" Harrington Joanne N. Sikes
 Richard A. "Rick" Hartley  
 Cecelia P. Marquart  
2004 Recipients
 Henry D. Adair Ronald P. Mafrige
 "J.J" Head Robert Daniel Pierce, Jr.
 James S. Olson Nancy Perkins Wilson
 Patricia A. Williams  
2003 Recipients
 Robert Lee Bruner Mary Frances Allen Park
 Ray A. Burgess George Robert Vick
2002 Recipients
 Charles "Tank" Baxter Bobbie J. Hilliard
 Joyce Walters Eveld Melvin Hunt
 William P. Fleming Gerardo O. Ruiz
2001 Recipients
 Larry Don Graves Tracy Williams
 Derelys Hungarland James Wood
 James Renfro  
2000 Recipients
 J.A."Jack" Chandler Charles Mallery
 Carolyn Gaines Bill E. Mills
 Jim Kuboviak Micah Slaughter
1999 Recipients
 Kathy L. Bowman Colleen Marks
 George Buckow, Jr. Ivy Moss
 Roland Jack Follis Jack Staggs
 Patsy Harper Leroy Wilkinson
 Johnny Holland  
1998 Recipients
 A. Davis Ford Jane Clements Monday
 Toby Gates Guinn Hugh Murray
 William P. Hall E. Don Walker, Jr.
  Janie Spencer Joyce