The rates below apply to undergraduate students who are residents of Texas and elect the traditional payment plan (TPP). This plan is the default plan if no other election is made.
Disclaimer. Tuition rates may be revised by the Legislature at any time. All tuition and fees are correct as of date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or by the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Out-of-state tuition is calculated each year by the Coordinating Board.
The rate combines statutory and designated tuition rates, which is used for faculty and staff salaries, new academic programs, strategic initiatives, and capital improvements.
The fee funds critical support services and infrastructure which allow for continued support of existing services and operations and allows for expansion of programs and services.
The fee supports intercollegiate athletic programs.
The fee supports the Intramural Program, the Student Life Support Programs, and the Extramural Programs. The fee provides admission to athletic events at SHSU under the auspices of the Department of Athletics. This fee has a fall and spring maximum of $250 and summer maximum of $125.
The fee is used to fund the Lowman Student Center programs and activities.
The fee supports the Student Health Center.
The fee is used to purchase equipment for and/or construct, operate, maintain recreational sports facilities and programs.
'20 – '21 Additional Fees
Taking any online classes?
The Distance Learning Fee of $101 per credit hour is charged in addition to tuition and mandatory fees when a course is designated as an electronically delivered (Internet) distance learning course. DISCLAIMER- Dependent upon a student’s zip code, the Recreational Sports, Lowman Student, and Health Center Fees may be waived if enrolled in all distance learning classes which are charged the $101 a credit hour.
Taking any lab courses?
Lab fees are charged at the rate of $8 for each lab. College of Science & Engineering Technology lab fee rate is $16 for each lab.
Taking a business or an engineering technology course?
Any student taking a College of Business Administration course or an Engineering Technology course will be charged a fee of $4 per semester credit hour for academic year 2020-21 and at a rate of $8 per semester credit hour for academic year 2021-22.
Majoring with the College of Science and Engineering Technology Program?
Students majoring with the College of Science and Engineering Technology (COSET) will be charged a program fee of $50 per semester.
Majoring with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing?
The Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program fee is charged at the rate of $855.00 per semester. This fee is charged to all students enrolled in the BS Nursing (BSN) degree program. The fee covers expenses for supplies, services, standardized testing and software.
Does your music class require individual instruction?
Music fees are charged for music courses that require individual instruction. These rates are charger per course.
1 semester credit hour: $30
2 semester credit hours: $60
3 semester credit hours: $75
4 semester credit hours: $75
Taking the same course for the third or more time?
In order to provide for loss of state funding, students attempting a course for the third or more time will be charged a statutory tuition rate up to the non-resident rate. The rate is currently $168/SCH. For more information about this fee, contact the Registrar’s Office. This fee is called the “Three Peat” Tuition fee.
Have excessive hours per your degree plan?
Texas Education Code 54.014 specifies that resident undergraduate students may be subject to a higher tuition rate for attempting excessive hours at any public institution of higher education while classified as a resident student for tuition purposes. The rate is currently $168/SCH.
Payment Plan Enrollment
A non-refundable fee of $30 is assessed to students who enroll or opt-in for enrollment into an installment payment plan.
Paid installment late?
A $25 late fee is charged for each installment payment received after the installment due date.
Attending one of more courses at the Woodlands Center?
A fee of $75 for each semester credit hour for courses taught at the University Center in The Woodlands.
Are you an international student?
A fee of $75 per semester charged to international students for services provided through the Office of International Programs.