Working with S: Drive

The S: drive is SHSU faculty, staff and students personal storage space on the SHSU network. It can be accessed from anywhere on campus, just by logging in to a campus computer. To access the S: drive off campus, you will need to use the remote desktop connection. 

These quotas are different for students, faculty, and staff.  

  • Student: 500 MB
  • Faculty/Staff: 3 GB
  • Saving to S: Drive on a PC

    To save files to your S drive on a Windows workstation, open a File Explorer window by:

    • press the Windows key + E on your keyboard; or
    • Right-click on the Windows button on your task bar and select File Explorer from the menu.

    File Explorer

    To move your files, navigate on the C drive where they are stored your files and follow the process below

    • Click on the file(s) once to highlight them;
    • Press CTRL+C to copy the files;
    • Navigate to your S Drive location where you would like to place the file; and then
    • Press CTRL + V to paste the file(s) in their new location.

    Repeat as necessary until all files are moved.

  • Saving to S: Drive on a Mac

    Macintosh Workstation have local Home drives, which means that the files and data stored on the desktop, etc., will not follow you from Mac to Mac or to a Windows machine.  To ensure that the files you need are available anywhere you log in, you will need to save those files to your S drive. To find your S drive, go to your desktop menu, click Go and then select Computer.

    Go Computer

    You will then be presented with a window that shows all drives connected to your account. There will be a "common" drive, which is the T drive. There will be a Macintosh HD, which is the local workstation. Next, you will see Network, which allows you to see other Macs on the network. Last, there will be a Users$ drive, which is your S drive. You will need to double-click on Users$, then double-click on the folder that is your username.

    ComputerContents

    You can copy and paste or save files directly to this drive as you would anywhere else on your workstation.

    If you have saved files to your Home Drive on the workstation, you copy or move those files by going back to your desktop and click on Go and then select Home.

    Home Drive

    You will then be presented with a window that will show you the contents of your Home Drive.  You can copy and paste the files as normal.

    Home Drive Contents

  • Viewing Current Used Space

    In order to view the current amount of your quota you’re using login to SamWeb and select the IT@Sam tab and select Quota Information from the list.

    SamWeb

    Decreasing Current Used Space

    The easiest way for you to free up space on your S drive, is to delete any old, irrelevant files that you are no longer needing. You can do this by simply deleting the files directly from your S drive.

  • Alternate File Storage Locations

    You can also use other storage locations to store your files. If the files are work related then the files can be saved to the T: drive.  Keep in mind that who ever has access to those same folders, will have access to these files. 

    Files can also be saved to OneDrive. OneDrive offers1 TB of storage with the SHSU Office 365 account that all faculty, staff and students have.

    You can also you external devices to store data. Just plug the external drive into the computer and save/move the files to the corresponding drive under My Computer.

  • Restoring Previous File Versions on S: Drive

    To restore files from previous versions of your S: drive folder, open the My Computer (shown as “username on nodename” example: “rlh014 on AB1-1-111”) option on the Start Menu.

    Windows Explorer 

    Right-click on the S: drive folder and choose Restore Previous Versions from the pop-up menu.

    On this tab, there is a list of several previous versions of the S: drive folder. Choose the one that you want to work with by clicking it.

    Restore Previous Version 

    • View will allow you to open the folder and view the files inside.
    • Copy will copy the entire folder to a location that you choose.
    • Restore will restore the previous version folder to the current  S: drive. CAUTION: This will overwrite the existing files.

    Please copy the folder or file that you are wanting to restore into a new location so that you do not overwrite any of the other files.