Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee


Appointed by: President

Reports to: Associate Vice President for Sponsored Programs

Number of Members: Up to 10

Regular Faculty Members: 4

Alternate Faculty Members: Up to 3

Community Members: Up to 3

Correct as of: August 2015

Purpose. Reviews university animal care facilities a minimum of two times each year; ensures that the university is in compliance with federal and state law regarding animal care; and recommends policy or procedures pertaining to animal care to the Academic Policy Council.

Appointments. The President makes all appointments and designates the Chair.  The committee consists of six Regular Members (including the attending veterinarian) and up to four Alternate Members.  At least one Regular Member and at least one Alternate Member will be nominated by the Dean of the College of Sciences; one Regular Member and One Alternate member from the community will be nominated by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs from recommendations made by the committee Chair.  Regular Members and Alternate members serve three-year terms, staggered to ensure continuity of membership on the committee.

Committee Members

Chair Term expires August 31, 2017

Marcy Beverly*,   Sciences

Regular Members

Terms expire August 31, 2016

Gerald Etheredge, Veterinarian
Vernette Porter, At Large Community Member

Alternate Member

Terms expire August 31, 2016

Michael Moore, DVM, Attending Veterinarian

Regular Members

Terms expire August 31, 2017

Marcy Beverly, Sciences
James Harper, Sciences
Jessica Leatherwood, Sciences
T.C. Sim, Humanities & Social Sciences

Terms expire August 31, 2018

Autumn Smith-Heron, TRIES

Alternate Member

Terms expire August 31, 2016

Mark Anderson, Sciences
Joni Seeling, Sciences
Jeff Wozniak, Sciences
Adam Schmidt, Humanities & Social Sciences


*Name appears more than once.

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
JoLynne Wharton
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2478

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor