Homecoming Steering Committee

Appointed by: President

Reports to: Vice President for University Advancement

Number of Members: 21

Chair 1

Alumni  1

Community  1

Faculty, Retired 1

Faculty 2

Staff  10

Ex officio 2

Students 3

Correct as of: August 2015

Purpose. Coordinates Homecoming activities for Sam Houston State University and develops a calendar of events for all coordinated activities during homecoming week.

Appointments. The President makes all appointments and designates the Chair. The Chair nominates all members.  Members serve one year terms ending May 31 of that year.  Membership shall include: one alumni officer or board member, one member of the community, two faculty members (including an administrator, with the faculty appointee to come from the Faculty Senate), one retired faculty member, ten staff members (to consist of a least one representative from each of the seven colleges), the Special Events Coordinator and the Director of Communications (which will serve indefinite terms as ex-officio members), and three student members (consisting of one representative from Student Government Association, Freshman Leaders, and Greek Life).

Committee Members


Charlie Vienne,   Director, Alumni Association

Terms expire May 31, 2015


Terry Williams,   President, Alumni Association Board of Directors


TBD,   Main Street Program Coordinator


Eric Marsh, Faculty

Brian Gibbs, Associate Director of Bands, Assistant Professor of Music

Retired Faculty

TBD, Faculty (Retired)


Susan Floyd,   Administrative Assistant (COS)
Emily Schulze Binetti,  
Marketing Coordinator (CFAMC)
Jurden Bruce,
   Web Services
Julie Campbell,   Program Coordinator (CFAMC)
Cutty Gilbert,   Criminal Justice
Sherry Hirsch,   Education
Brenda McNeely,   Humanities & Social Sciences
Leah Mulligan,   Student Activities
David Paitson,   Athletics
Weslie Gray,   Fine Arts & Mass Communication
Erin Keenright,   Health Sciences
Charlene McWilliams,   President's Office
Julia May,   Associate Director of Communications & PIO
Charles Hensons, DELTA

Ex officio Members

Charlene McWilliams,   Director of University Events, President's Office
Julia May,   Assistant Director, Communications

Terms expire May 31, 2016


TBD,    Freshman Leader
TBD,   Greek Life
Phillip Lund,   President, Student Government Association

To Report Errors

All errors in committee listings should be reported in writing to:
JoLynne Wharton
Mail: Campus P.O. Box 2478
Email: jew036@shsu.edu

Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor