Spring 2015 Seminar Schedule

Date
Speaker
Title
Jan. 22
Dr. Aaron Roberts
Dr. Aaron Roberts
University of North Texas
Host: Dr. Harper
Aaron.Roberts@unt.edu

Mercury and Macrophages: Implications for Toxicity in Fish and Wildlife

Jan. 29
Dr. Mark Siddall
Dr. Mark Siddall
American Museum of Natural History
Host: Dr. Cook
siddall@amnh.org

Advanced genome and imaging technology totally sucks: lessons from leeches

Feb. 5
Dr. Jae-il Park
Dr. Jae-Il Park
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Host: Dr. Seeling
jaeil@mdanderson.org

Manipulating Wnt Signaling in Stem Cells and Cancer

Feb. 12
Dr. Milt Ostrofsky
Dr. Milt Ostrofsky
Allegheny College
Host: Dr. Wozniak
mostrofs@allegheny.edu

Predicting Internal Phosphorus Loading in Stratified Lakes

Feb. 19
Dr. Jason Gibbs
Dr. Jason Gibbs
Michigan State University
Host: Dr. Pascarella
jgibbs@msu.edu

The social evolution, systematics and historical biogeography of sweat bees

Feb. 26
Dr. Kevin Lafferty
Dr. Kevin Lafferty
USGS/UC Santa Barbara
Host: Dr. Buck
Lafferty@lifesci.ucsb.edu

Parasites and environmental change

March 5
Dr. Pinfen Yang
Dr. Pinfen Yang
Marquette University
Host: Dr. Gaillard
pinfen.yang@marquette.edu

Dare to imagine – beyond the dogmas of signal transduction and microtubule dynamics

March 12
 
NO SEMINAR

March 19
Dr. Tom Miller

Dr. Tom Miller
Rice University
Host: Dr. Harper
tom.miller@rice.edu

Ecological interactions of plants through the lens of demography

March 26
Dr. Jeffrey Rosen
Dr. Jeffrey Rosen
Baylor School of Medicine
Host: Dr. Seeling
jrosen@bcm.edu

Wnt and Fgf signaling in mammary gland development and breast cancer

***BIOMEDICAL SCIENCE SEMINAR***

April 2
Dr. Peter Christie
Dr. Peter Christie
UT Medical School at Houston
Host: Dr. Choudhary
Peter.J.Christie@uth.tmc.edu

Biological and Structural Diversity of Bacterial Type IV Secretion Systems

April 9
Dr. Gil Rosenthal
Dr. Gil Rosenthal
Texas A&M University
Host: Dr. Carlson (Philosophy)
grosenthal@bio.tamu.edu

Mate choice and its consequences: insights from natural hybrid zones

April 16
Dr. Carlos Santamaria
Dr. Carlos Santamaria
Sam Houston State University
Host: Biology

Diversification of coastal isopods in the Indo-Pacific Region: Preliminary results and future directions

April 23
Dr. Nicole Smolensky
Dr. Nicole Smolensky
Texas A&M University
Host: Dr. Santamaria
nsmo@neo.tamu.edu

Cryptic Diversity of African Crocodiles and Implications for In Situ and Ex Situ Conservation

April 30
Dr. Tony Gamble
Dr. Tony Gamble
University of Minnesota
Host: Dr. Daza
gambl007@umn.edu

Diversity and evolution of gecko sex chromosomes

Seminar location/time: 
Lee Drain Building 214 - 4 p.m. to 5 p.m.*

For additional information contact:
Dr. Jim Harper
Phone: 936-294-1543
E-mail: jmharper@shsu.edu


Sam Houston State Logo

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866)BEARKAT Member TSUS
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | Contact Web Editor