Today@Sam Article

Outstanding Faculty Recognized

Aug. 28, 2023
SHSU Media Contact: Emily Binetti

SHSU faculty members who have attained significant honors and achievements during the year were recently recognized at the Annual President's Academic Awards Dinner. 

The following 2022-2023 Honorees were recognized.

Associate Professor with Tenure

Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure:

  • Kyle Craig-Bogard
  • Sandy Hinkley
  • Ouadie Akaaboune
  • Leslie Blix
  • Oscar Harvin
  • Lindsay Clark
  • Elisa Toman
  • Sinem Akay-Sullivan
  • Elizabeth Gross
  • Mertie Gomez
  • Patrick Davis
  • Min Kim
  • Erica Pasquini
  • Andrea Smith
  • Lisa Dahlgren
  • Chelsea Ratcliff
  • Tracy Knight
  • Christopher Hobbs
  • Adrian Villalta-Cerdas
  • Christopher Zall
  • Iftekhar Basith
  • Emma Bullock
  • Doo Kim
  • Timothy Trujillo
  • Dianna Kim
  • Susan Elkins

Pamela Slagle, Magdalena Denham

Non Tenure Track Promotion: Pamela Slagle, Magdalena Denham

Promotion to Professor of Practice: Magdalena Denham

Trad Tarek

Promotion to Full Professor with Tenure: Trad Tarek

 (Front) Li-Jen Lester, Jason Ingram (Back) Praphul Joshi, Maria Botero-Jaramillo, Burcu Ates, Michael Demson

Promotion to Full Professor:

  • Tarek Trad
  • Walton 'Tony' Watkins
  • Wojciech Lorenc
  • Jason Ingram
  • Patrick Buzzini
  • Burcu Ates
  • Praphul Joshi
  • Michael Demson
  • David Mayes
  • Maria Botero Jaramillo
  • Li-Jen Lester
  • Lawrence Wolfskill


  • Jean Bodon
  • David Burris
  • Frank Creghan
  • Peggy DeMers
  • Mertie Gomez
  • Kristina Hanssen
  • Joan Hudson
  • Ruth Massingill
  • Vickie Mitchell
  • Janet Mullings
  • Doug Ullrich

Gary Oden, Jianzhong Wang

Faculty Emeritus: 

  • Janet Mullings
  • Gary Oden
  • Jianzhong Wang
  • Jim Tiller

Pam Zelbst, Julie Combs

Distinguished Professor: 

  • Julie Combs
  • Joyce McCauley
  • Pamela Zelbst

Michael Stephenson, Brandon Strubberg, Lisa Brown, Kandi Tayebi, Adannaa Alexander, Helena Halmari, Alisa White

Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Accomplishments: Helena Halmari

Excellence in Teaching: Kandi Tayebi, Adannaa Alexander

Excellence in Service: Lisa Brown

David Payne Academic Community Engagement Award: Brandon Strubberg

Andrea Foster, Mary Petron

TSUS Regents' Teaching Award:  Andrea Foster, Mary Petron

To see photos from the 2023 President's Academic Awards Dinner, follow this link.

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to