Today@Sam Article

Sam Houston University Foundation Announces New President & Members

Aug. 31, 2022
SHSU Media Contact: Emily Binetti

Robert E. Hutson

Brooke Beierle Mia GradneyCharles Jones III Christopher Tritico

The Sam Houston University Foundation Inc. (SHUF) has selected its new board president and added new members to the Board of Trustees. As of Sept. 1, Robert E. Hutson will serve as president and is joined by four new members — E. Brooke Beierle, Mia E. Gradney, Charles W. Jones III and Christopher L. Tritico.

The SHUF is separate from Sam Houston State University. It is an independent, not-for-profit, tax-exempt corporation. Established in 2012, SHUF supports and furthers the mission of the university through acceptance and investment of gifts as endowments and making expenditures benefiting SHSU students, faculty and staff.

The Board of Trustees has been very fortunate to have had exceptional members and leaders presiding over its operations for several years,” Hutson said. “They have been dedicated to Sam Houston, serving, and making decisions for the best interest of the university. Our goal for the new board members will be to continue this high level of expertise and direction to enhance our university.”

Hutson fills the role after retiring president, Leo "Tommy" Metcalf, who served as a trustee for nine years and board president for the last four years.

Robert E. Hutson is a retired executive vice president of Texas Capital Bank in Houston. He earned his bachelor’s degree in business administration at SHSU in 1965. Hutson is director of the GHS Foundation, which established the Smith-Hutson Scholarship program in 1996, that he continues to manage. He was one of the first to be inducted into the College of Business Administration Hall of Honor in 2006. He is a Life Member of the Alumni Association.

Brooke Beierle is the president of Vanco Ring Gasket Specialty Corporation based in Stafford, Texas. She earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from SHSU in 2004 and is a Life Member of the Alumni Association and supporter of Bearkats in Business. 

Mia E. Gradney is an Emmy Award-winning talent known to many as the evening anchor at KHOU 11 News in Houston. For two decades, she has covered everything from hurricanes to Hollywood red carpet events and national sports championships. She earned a bachelor’s degree in radio, television and film from SHSU in 1998 and was recognized as an SHSU Outstanding Young Alumni in 2016.

Charles W. Jones III is EVP/COO, Dealer Financial Services for Truist Bank. In 1981, he completed a bachelor’s in finance from SHSU. As a Life Endowed Member of the SHSU Alumni Association, he continually gives back. Each year, he sponsors SHSU scholarships helping students achieve their educational dreams. He was inducted into the College of Business Administration Hall of Honor in 2011 and recognized as an SHSU Distinguished Alumni in 2019.   

Christopher L. Tritico is one of the founding members of Tritico Rainey, PLLC in Houston and has practiced law since 1988. He is a 1983 graduate of SHSU with a bachelor’s in political science. Tritico is a former president of the Alumni Association and a Life Member of the Alumni Association. In 2016, he was recognized through the College of Humanities and Social Sciences’ Wall of Honor.



- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to