Today@Sam Article

Chairman Scott Appoints Advisory Committee To Launch Sam Houston Presidential Search

Feb. 17, 2020
SHSU Media Contact: Mike Wintemute

William F. Scott, Chairman of the TSUS Board of Regents, has appointed the following individuals to serve on the Advisory Search Committee for the next president of Sam Houston State University:

  • Alan Tinsley (Committee Chair), Regent, Texas State University System
  • Charlie Amato, Regent, Texas State University System
  • Duke Austin, Regent, Texas State University System
  • Bryan Brown, SHSU Alumni Board Past President
  • Sam Burris, First National Bank of Huntsville
  • Lenora Chapman, SHSU Associate Vice President for Financial Planning and Budget
  • Frank Holmes, SHSU Vice President for University Advancement
  • Amanda Lee, SHSU Student Government Association President
  • Phillip Lyons, Ph.D., SHSU Dean of College of Criminal Justice
  • Russell Martinez, SHSU Associate Athletic Director for External Relations
  • Chris Maynard, Ph.D., SHSU Vice Provost
  • Lee Miller, Ph.D., SHSU Faculty Senate Incoming Chair, College of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Frank Parker, SHSU Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Danny Pierce, Walker County Judge
  • Shani Robinson, Ph.D., SHSU Associate Dean, College of Business Administration
  • Erin Steele, SHSU Foundation Board
  • Courtney West, Ph.D., SHSU Associate Dean of Educational Affairs, College of Osteopathic Medicine

The Advisory Search Committee will meet several times over the next six months to help identify the desired attributes and qualifications of the next Sam Houston president, and to narrow the pool of candidates to recommend to the Chancellor, who will select the sole finalist for Board of Regents' consideration.

A presidential search website will be created and available from SHSU’s home page to solicit input and provide updates to the campus community. Academic Search, an executive search firm, is assisting TSUS in the SHSU presidential search process. SHSU’s current president, Dr. Dana Hoyt, has announced her intention to retire later this year after leading the university for a decade.

The Texas State University System, founded in 1911, is Texas’ first university system, consisting of seven institutions serving more than 86,000 students from the Big Bend Region to the Gulf Coast.

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to