Today@Sam Article

The 26th Annual Sammys Winners

April 10, 2020
SHSU Media Contact: Hannah Haney

Hosted by Sam Houston State University and the Department of Student Activities, The Sammys is the official university ceremony that recognizes SHSU's outstanding student leaders and organizations. 

2020 Winners


  • Outstanding First Year Student Leader: Dustin Gaona
  • Outstanding Sophomore Student Leader: Kwame Ambaah
  • Outstanding Junior Student Leader: Anubhav Thakur
  • Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Leader: Eric Manis
  • Outstanding Graduate/Doctoral Student Award: Mackenzie Wethington
  • The Creager Memorial Award: Eric Manis
  • The McDermett Memorial Award: Taylor Bailey
  • The Sammy Award (Faculty/Staff): Gene Roberts
  • The Sammy Award (Faculty/Staff): Dana Bible
  • The Sammy Award (Student): Chelsea Henderson
  • The Sammy Award (Student): Rainey Riley


  • Outstanding Academic Organization: Society of Women for Excellence in Engineering and Technology
  • Outstanding Advocacy Organization: Project Sunshine
  • Outstanding Diversity Organization: Unit 6816, The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
  • Outstanding Recreational Organization: Club Powerlifting
  • Outstanding Religious and Spirituality Organization: The Wesley Foundation
  • Outstanding Social Sorority: Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Outstanding Social Fraternity: Phi Delta Theta
  • Outstanding Special Interest Organization: Ducks Unlimited at Sam
  • Outstanding Student Organization Advisor: Valencia Browning-Keen
  • "The Measure of a Life is its Service" Award: Project Sunshine

Individual College

  • Excellence in Service: College of Business Administration: Juliya Pervakova
  • Excellence in Service: College of Criminal Justice: Ethan Hoover
  • Excellence in Service: College of Education: Anthony Anderson
  • Excellence in Service: College of Arts & Media: Caroline Senter
  • Excellence in Service: College of Health Sciences: Christina Cook
  • Excellence in Service: College of Humanities & Social Sciences: Cassandra Bailey
  • Excellence in Service: College of Science and Engineering Technology: Haley Coker

Sam Houston Cane Award

  • Sam Houston Cane Award: The Center for Community Engagement

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Asst. Director Content & Social Media: Emilee White

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to