Today@Sam Article

Winners Of The 2018 Sammy Awards

April 12, 2018
SHSU Media Contact: Hannah Haney

Hosted by Sam Houston State University and the Department of Student Activities, The Sammys is the official university ceremony that recognizes SHSU's outstanding student leaders and organizations. 

Outstanding First-Year Student Leader

Elisha Daniels

Outstanding Academic/Honorary Organization

Masters of Dance

Excellence in Service: College of Business Administration

Whitney Arnic

Cane Award

Landscape Services

Outstanding Sophomore Student Leader

Kayla Franco

Outstanding Community Service Project

Alpha Delta Pi

Excellence in Service: College of Criminal Justice

Alondra Duran

Outstanding Junior Student Leader

David Eller

Outstanding Cultural Organization

Caribbean Student Organization

Excellence in Service: College of Education

Rachel Lechmann

Outstanding Recreational Organization

SHSU Powerlifting

Outstanding Non-Traditional Student Leader

Michele Robertson

Outstanding Religious Organization

The Wesley Foundation

Excellence in Service: College of Fine Arts and Mass Communications

Esteban Bejaran

Outstanding Social Sorority

Delta Xi Nu Multicultural Sorority Inc.

Outstanding Social Fraternity

Phi Gamma Delta

Excellence in Service: College of Health Sciences

Taylor Bailey

Excellence in Service: College of Humanities and Social Sciences

Sara Gollogly

Outstanding Graduate Doctoral Student

Cassandra Bailey

Outstanding Special Interest Organization

Bearkat Battalion

Outstanding Organization

Masters of Dance

Outstanding Advisor of a Student Organization

Jeffrey Butterworth

Excellence in Service: College of Science and Engineering Technology

Cresencio Adame IV

The Creager Memorial Award (Male Senior)

Justin Whitaker

The McDermett Memorial Award (Female Senior)

Kaitlyn Tyra

The Sammy Award (Faculty/Staff)

Brian Gibbs

Chelsea Smith

The Sammy Award (Students)

Taylor Bailey

Blake Brown

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to