Today@Sam Article

SHSU Faculty Recognized At Annual Academic Awards Dinner

Sept. 6, 2017
SHSU Media Contact: Lane Fortenberry

SHSU faculty members who have attained significant honors and achievements during the year were recognized at the 13th Annual President's Academic Awards Dinner on Aug. 22. The event was held in the LSC Ballroom and the featured theme was "Under the Sea." —Photos by Brian Blalock

Those recognized as new associate professors with tenure included (from left): Michael Demson, English; Maria Botero, philosophy; Shani Robinson, accounting; John Harris, geology; Lawrence Wolfskill, agricultural sciences; Jeffrey Sullivan, counselor education; Karin Perry, library sciences; Burcu Ates, language, literacy, and special populations; and Masahito Sugihara, music. Also included is Santosh Kumar, economics.

Professor of Population Health Stephen Brown was recognized as full professor with tenure.

Those recognized as full professors included (from left): Fidel Gonzalez, economics; Javier Pinell, music; Jeffrey Littlejohn, history; Michael Henderson, art; Shuangyue Zhang, communication studies; Laura Sullivan, business administration; Rebecca Bustamante, educational leadership; Pamela Zelbst, management; and Rebecca Garcia, mathematics. Also included are Rebecca Finley, art, and Markland Tuttle, economics.

Associate Professor of Nursing Denise Neill and Associate Professor of History Pinar Emiralioglu were recognized as tenure. Also included is Dwayne McSwain, accounting.

Recognized for their Professor Emeritus designation were (from left): Distinguished Professor of History James Olson; Professor of Mathematics and Statistics Cecil Hallum; Professor of Philosophy Frank Fair; Professor of Chemistry Rick White; and Professor of Language, Literacy, and Special Populations Sharon Lynch. Fair, Hallum and Olson join recent retirees including: Janet Bridges, mass communications; Thomas Chasteen, chemistry; James Deshaw, program biology; Barbara Greybeck, language, literacy, and special populations; Geraldine Hynes general business; George Samuels, economics and international business; Sheryl Anne Serres, counselor education; and Phillip Swicegood, language, literacy, and special populations.

2017 Faculty Excellence Award recipients who were recognized included (from left): Marcy Beverly, agriculture; Jim Dozier, criminal justice; Tamara Cook, biology; and Qingzhong Liu, computer science.

Professor of Library Science Teri Lesesne was recognized as Distinguished Professor.

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Associate Director, Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Writer: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Thomason Building: Suite 102

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to