Today@Sam Article

President Hoyt Named Chair Of AASCU Board of Directors

Nov. 14, 2017
SHSU Media Contact: Emily Binetti

With the selection of California State University Fullerton President Mildred García as the new president of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities, Dana Hoyt, president of Sam Houston State University, moves from 2018 chair-elect to chair of the AASCU Board of Directors.  hoytHeadshot

“I look forward to joining President García as board chair,” Hoyt said. “It is an honor to serve as an integral part of the organization’s unwavering commitment to developing student-centered higher education leadership and supporting our member institutions and the diverse students and communities they serve.”

AASCU is a Washington, D.C. based higher education association of 400 public colleges, universities, and systems whose members share a learning and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations, and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development.

Hoyt has been president of SHSU since 2010. Her professional career experience has been in both public and private higher education including serving as vice president for administration and finance at the University of Colorado at Denver including their Health Sciences Center. Following that, she served as vice president for business and finance for Southern Methodist University; she then joined SHSU as vice president for finance and operations in 2009 prior to being named president in 2010.

Hoyt has been a member of the AASCU Board of Directors since 2014. Other AASCU involvement includes membership on the Policies and Purposes committee, serving as the AASCU liaison to Academic Search and the American Academic Leadership Institute (AALI) and as vice chair of the Academic Search board. In addition, she has been active in AASCU's Summer Council of Presidents and the Annual Meeting.

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Associate Director, Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Vacant
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Writer: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Thomason Building: Suite 102

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to