Today@Sam Article

Faculty, Staff Give Back In Record Numbers

March 15, 2016
SHSU Media Contact: Julia May

Volunteers for the Faculty/Staff Annual Fund Campaign were updated with the results of their work during a recognition lunch held in their honor recently. -- Photos by Brian Blalock

Story by Cindy Truax

Results of this year’s Faculty/Staff Annual Fund Campaign were announced at a recognition luncheon held Feb. 29 in the Peabody Library, during which volunteers were applauded for their efforts.

SHSU President Dana Hoyt praised the 75-member committee for their work and expressed her appreciation for reaching a high percentage of giving again this year.  She emphasized that the university has maintained an 80 percent average level of giving over the past five years.

“I mention this high participation rate and praise our faculty and staff for their support when I talk to our constituents,” she said. “It speaks to the strong commitment of our university community to Sam Houston State.”

During the active phase of the campaign, which ran from mid-October through December, a record high 1,508 donors gave or pledged over $242,000.

Jim Bexley, campaign general chairman, said SHSU reached a record number of donors to the campaign this past fall, and he commended the committee, reporting that four areas had reached 100 percent participation and an additional four areas reached over 80 percent participation.

Bexley, along with faculty campaign chair Rosanne Keathley and staff campaign chair Debbie Nichols, recognized the committee and presented awards.

A listing of employees who have contributed and details on how to participate is available online.

The College of Business Administration was chaired by Bill Green, with members Gloria Buchanan, Joe Kavanaugh, Jan Morris and Laura Sullivan.

Amanda Burris and Ann Broussard co-chaired the College of Criminal Justice committee, with members Leana Bouffard, Patrick Buzzini and Donna Garcia.

The College of Education committee was chaired by Sherry Hirsh with members Staci Baker, Lori Haas, Susan Hayes, and Chi-Sing Li.

Weslie Gray chaired the College of Fine Arts and Mass Communication committee, with members Kathy Daniel, Kristina Hanssen, Megan Hobbs-Barrett, Andy Noble, Peter Roussel and Nicole Sullivan.

The College of Health Sciences committee was chaired by Kerry Berry and Matt Wagner, with committee members Connie McMurrey and Janis White.

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences committee was chaired by Deanna Briones, with committee members Lila Alvarado, Jeff Anastasi, April Darby, George Diaz, Jennifer Knapp, Terry Thibodeaux and Tamara Waggener.

The College of Sciences campaign committee was chaired by Dwayne Pavelock, with members David Burris, Madhusudhan Choudhary, Susan Floyd, Donovan Haines, Melinda Holt, John Strait and Joel Walker.

The Academic Affairs committee was chaired by Julie Schwab, with committee members Wesley Boyd, Cathi Gillette and Trina Strange.

Sherry Henke chaired the committee for Enrollment Management, with members Angela Buckner, Rachel Somers and Amy Wilson.

The Finance and Operations committee was co-chaired by Heather Dolezal, Scott Dolezal and Karyl Horn, with members Bob Chapa, Dave Hammonds, Ivanette Lofton, Kevin Morris, Lori Proctor and Vickey Saucier.

Rachel Shorter chaired Information Technology’s committee, with members TJ Harris and Suzette Kohers.

Erin Cassidy chaired the committee for the Newton Gresham Library, with committee members Marsha Dickens and Stephen Strubing.

The President's Office committee was co-chaired by Kathy Gilcrease and JR Ohr.

Drew Miller chaired the Student Services committee, with members Cindy Allbright and Lynn Clopton.

University Advancement committee was co-chaired by Meggan Thompson and Cindy Truax.

Enrollment Management volunteers
Enrollment Management had 100 percent participation this year.  From left are Sherry Henke, Amy Wilson, Angela Buckner, Rachel Somers and Heather Thielemann.

Library volunteers
The Newton Gresham Library reached 100 percent participation. From left are Stephen Strubing, Erin Cassidy and Marsha Dickens.

President's Office reps
The Office of the President had 100 percent participation.  From left are Kathy Gilcrease, Dana Hoyt and JR Ohr.

University Advancement volunteers
University Advancement had 100 percent participation.  From left are Frank Holmes, Thelma Mooney, Cindy Truax, and Meggan Thompson.

Finance & Operations volunteers
Finance and Operations received a recognition for highest participation increase during the campaign.  From left are Kevin Morris, Scott Dolezal, Heather Dolezal, Karyl Horn, Bob Chapa, Carlos Hernandez, Dave Hammonds, Lori Proctor, and Ivanette Lofton.

Outstanding Volunteer Awards
The Outstanding Volunteer Award went to Scott Dolezal and Karyl Horn of Finance and Operations.

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to