Today@Sam Article

Faculty Recognized At Annual Academic Awards Dinner

Aug. 25, 2016
SHSU Media Contact: Julia May

SHSU faculty members who have attained significant honors and achievements during the year were recognized at the 12th Annual President's Academic Awards Dinner on Tuesday evening. The event was held in the LSC Ballroom and featured a Venetian theme. -- Photos by Brian Blalock


Professor of General Business and Finance James Bexley was recognized for his selection as a Texas State University System Regents Professor. He is pictured with SHSU President Dana G. Hoyt.

Professor of Psychology Rowland Miller (left), was recognized as Distinguished Professor and recipient of the 2016 Piper Professor Award. Professor of Criminal Justice and Criminology Larry Hoover (right) was recognized as Distinguished Professor.

2016 faculty excellence award recipients who were recognized included (from left): Agriculture Education Professor Dwayne Havelock, Excellence in Service; Musicology Professor Sheryl Murphy-Manley, Excellence in Teaching; Biological Sciences Associate Professor Madhusudan Choudhary, Excellence in Scholarly and Creative Accomplishments; and Marketing and Management Professor Sanjay Mehta, the David Payne Academic Community Engagement Award.


Recognized for their Professor Emeritus designation were (from left): Professor of Economics William Green; Professor of History Caroline Crimm; and Professor of Psychology and Philosophy John de Castro.

Recently retired faculty attending the event included (from left): Professor of Population Health William (Bill) Hyman and Assistant Professor of General Business Harold Hurry.

Those recognized as new associate professors with tenure included (from left): Gary Acton, geography and geology; Falguni Mukherjee, geography and geology; Matthew Fuller, educational leadership; Robin Johnson, mass communication; Allison Glave, kinesiology; Jamie Collins, management and marketing; and Christopher Cassidy, management and marketing.

New full professors included (from left): Peggy DeMers, music; Eric Marsh, theatre and musical theatre; Darren Williams, chemistry; Nancy Stockall, language, literacy and special populations; and Todd Primm, biology.

Also recognized as full professor was Thomas Prior, theatre and musical theatre.

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to