Today@Sam Article

Hoyt Recognizes Faculty, Staff During Annual Meeting

Sept. 4, 2015
SHSU Media Contact: Jennifer Gauntt

SHSU President Dana Hoyt recognized university employees for their service and excellence, as well as shared some of the strides the university has made over the past five years of her tenure, during the annual Faculty and Staff General Meeting on Sept. 3 in the Gaertner Performing Arts Center Concert Hall. To see her full PowerPoint presentation, click here, or watch it here. Faculty and staff members recognized during the event include:

20 year faculty
TWENTY YEAR FACULTY SERVICE AWARDS — From left: Janis White, associate professor of fashion merchandising and design; Helena Halmari, professor of English; Wayne Barrett, associate professor of music and associate dean of the College of Fine Arts and Mass Communication; and Phillip Lyons, professor of security studies and dean of the College of Criminal Justice.  —All photos by Brian Blalock

20 year staff
TWENTY YEAR STAFF SERVICE AWARDS — Front row, from left: William Thomas, department of theatre and musical theatre; Elfreda D'Cunha, Office of the Registrar; Barbara Kievit-Mason, Newton Gresham Library; Ana Maiorano, Student Health Center; and Jaimie Hebert, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs. Back row, from left: Wayne Frosch, Property; Wilbert Hightower, General Accounting; Robert Smith, Facilities Management; and Mac Woodward, Sam Houston Memorial Museum director. Not pictured was Jimmy Merritt, Facilities Management. 

25 year faculty
TWENTY-FIVE YEAR FACULTY SERVICE AWARDS — Front row, from left: Nicholas Pappas, professor of history; Furjen Deng, professor and chair of sociology; Teresa Lesesne, professor of library science; and William Carroll, associate professor of political science. Back row, from left: Leonard Breen, associate professor of education; and Jurg Gerber, professor of criminal justice and criminology and acting chair of security studies. 

25 year staff
TWENTY-FIVE YEAR STAFF SERVICE AWARDS — Front row, from left: Elaine Lewis, Sam Houston Press; Angel Lamb, Human Resources; Mary Robbins, associate vice provost and iterim dean of Graduate Studies; Lori Rose, department of biological sciences; and Melanie Walton, Newton Gresham Library. Back row, from left: James Harding, Facilities Management; Jack Nichols, Facilities Management; and Johnny Smith, department of agricultural sciences and engineering technology. Not pictured was Trina Strange, DELTA.

30-plus year faculty and staff
FACULTY AND STAFF MEMBER AWARDS FOR MORE THAN 30 YEARS OF SERVICE — Front row, from left: Julia May, Communications, 35 years; Teresa Ringo, Registrar, 30 years; Kristina Hanssen, professor of theatre, 30 years; and Jerry Bruce, professor of psychology and associate dean of the College of Humanities and Social Sciences, 45 years. Back row, from left: Frank Parker, vice president for Student Services, 35 years; and Paul Loeffler, professor of chemistry, 40 years. Not pictured was James DeShaw, professor of biological sciences, 45 years. 

staff excellence award recipients
STAFF EXCELLENCE AWARDS — From left: Kelly Bentsen, ERP analyst IV for IT@Sam; Bubba Miller, rodeo coach; and Megan Hobbs Barrett, assistant to the chair of the art department. Not pictured was Lisa Langlais, administrative associate II for the department of mathematics and statistics.   

- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to