Today@Sam Article

Texas Bankers Hall Of Fame Announces Honorees

April 8, 2015
SHSU Media Contact: Julia May

Five individuals who have made significant contributions to the banking industry have been selected for the 2015 Texas Bankers Hall of Fame.

They include Charles T. “Chuck” Doyle, F. Scott Dueser, Robert E. Marling Jr., the late LeRoy Stein, and John W. Wright.  The honorees will be recognized during ceremonies on April 23 in the Lowman Student Center Ballroom of Sam Houston State University in Huntsville. 

The Texas Bankers Hall of Fame was established by the Smith-Hutson Endowed Chair of Banking at SHSU to recognize outstanding bankers who have served their industry, community and state. 


Charles T. Doyle

Doyle is chairman emeritus/founding director of the board of Texas First Bank, located in Galveston, Brazoria, Chambers, Harris, Jefferson, and Liberty counties, and chairman of Texas Independent Bancshares, Inc.   He currently serves as a member of the boards of CBG Holding, Inc.; Q2 E-Banking; the Independent Bankers Association of Texas Education Foundation; and the advisory board of directors for the Michael F. Price College of Business at the University of Oklahoma.  He is a former board member of Visa, Inc.; Visa U.S.A; Visa International; Inovant; and Certegy, Inc. Charles T. Doyle

DueserF. Scott Dueser

Dueser began his banking career in 1971 as a bookkeeper for First National Bank in Breckenridge, where he worked during the summers while attending college.  He also worked at Plains National Bank in Lubbock and as an assistant bank examiner at the Federal Reserve Bank in Dallas.  In 1976, he joined First National Bank of Abilene as a management trainee.  Through the years he has held numerous positions with the bank, including chairman, president and chief executive officer.  He currently serves as chairman, president and chief executive officer of First Financial Bankshares, Inc.F. Scott Dueser

MarlingRobert E. Marling Jr

Marling is chairman and chief executive officer of Woodforest Financial Group, Inc., and chief executive officer of Woodforest National Bank.  He joined Woodforest in 1989 and has led the community bank from an asset size of $89 million and two locations to its current position as a regional bank with assets of more than $4 billion, 757 branches, and more than 4,800 employees.  In 1996, Woodforest opened its first instore branch inside a Walmart store in Conroe.  This action led the bank on the beginning of a journey into many more instore banks inside Walmart locations, first in Texas, then North Carolina, Ohio, and eventually into 17 different states. Robert E. Marling Jr.

SteinLeRoy Stein

Born in Frelsburg in 1916, Stein accepted a position with Columbus State Bank in 1937.  Except for a stint of nearly four years in the Army Air Force during World War II, he remained with the bank until his death in 1997.  He became the bank’s fourth president in 1978 and was serving as chairman emeritus at the time of his death.  Stein was a director of Columbus State Bank; Central Texas Bankshare Holdings, Inc.; South Central Texas Bankers Association; Magnolia Homes Tour; Columbus Lions Club; Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce; and Columbus Community Hospital and Veterans Administration.LeRoy Stein

WrightJohn W. Wright

Wright has served over 42 years with the banking industry, with 35 of those spent as president and chief executive officer of numerous banks; for many, he also served as chairman of the board.  The majority of Wright’s career was spent cleaning up “problem banks,” all of which were returned to safe and sound condition.  His career also included several banks that operated in sound fashion.  He was chairman of the board of the National Bank of Oak Cliff, National Bank of Grand Prairie and Pioneer National Bank.  He held these positions concurrently with his daily duties of running and managing troubled banks.John W. Wright


- END -

This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office:

Director of Content Communications: Emily Binetti

Communications Manager: Mikah Boyd
Telephone: 936.294.1837

Communications Specialist: Campbell Atkins
Telephone: 936.294.2638

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to