Class Notes

Leonard Keeling ’63 released his first book “The Watch – a Time Remembered.” The book, available through Amazon, shares the story of a young man who immigrates to Texas from Tennessee in the late 1850s. 

E.L. Moore ’76 was honored with an award for his extraordinary community service as Chairman of the Texas Association of Sports Officials softball division awards committee. Moore was elected to the Board of Directors for TASO softball in 2015. This is his 46th year of umpiring high school baseball and softball. 

Jim Wells ’82 and Pam Wells ’83, ’11 were honored as the namesakes of one of the newest elementary schools in their community of Cypress-Fairbanks. The naming of the “Jim and Pam Wells Elementary School” recognizes the couple for more than a combined 66 years of outstanding educational commitment to their district. 

Cheryl Bogner Witty ’83 retired from teaching in the Tomball ISD and along with her husband, Ross Witty ’82 founded the Children’s Transplant Initiative in Houston. Created to help families with a child in need of a transplant, the non-profit organization was established after their daughter received a life-saving kidney transplant from Ross in 2011. They have been a blessing to many as they continue their mission supporting fellow transplant families. 

Jeff Simms ’89 received his full licensure as a professional counselor. He has worked in the mental health field as a qualified professional and licensed counselor for the last 10 years.  

Marc Glasser ’85 career has spanned over three decades of public and private sector service including infrastructure protection, resilience, security, business continuity, crisis management, law enforcement, business and education. Marc’s current U.S. Government service is with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security as the Chief of Regulatory Compliance for the regions of Alaska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. In addition to serving as advisor on all matters related to the Infrastructure Security Compliance Division, he is responsible for administering the Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards program and leading regional efforts to coordinate with other federal, state and local representatives and spearhead regional CFATS-related outreach and engagement. 

Eva D. (Gray) Coleman ’94 was named convention Chairwoman for the 2018 National Association of Black Journalists. The largest gathering for journalists of color, the 2018 convention will be held August 1-5 in Detroit. As a Dallas-area editor and journalism educator, Eva has garnered numerous awards including four Telly producer awards and Student Television Network Teacher of the Year for 2012-2013.  

Darren Chandler ’94 was recently hired as Deer Park Athletic Director. Darren has coached for 22 years, with 15 as a head coach.

Amanda Carter ’09 was hired as budget officer to lead the newly created Montgomery County budget office. She is responsible for financial and resource planning for all of Montgomery County. 

Bill Tutor ’15 made it to his first finals in a bareback riding competition during the 2018 Rodeo Houston Semifinal 1 at NRG Stadium and won with an 86-point ride on Walleye Rocket.  

Madeline Mortimore ’16 was accepted to Harvard University Graduate School. 

Kody Fain ’18 (MBA) was hired as Vice President of Lending at Anahuac National Bank in Chambers County. 

Want to share your recent accomplishments with fellow Bearkats? Fill out our online form and you may be featured in the next Heritage Online!  

Back to top

Back to Previous Section                                                        Go to the Next Section