Security Tip: Be Secure When Sharing in OneDrive

We all know IT@Sam lives for document security, whether it is physical documentation or files on your computer. So how are you supposed to protect your files when sharing in OneDrive? The answer is simple. Use OneDrive’s “Manage Access” option.  With this option, you can see who you are sharing the file with and you can grant or stop sharing access through the same window.

cloud with lock

We do recommend that you practice caution when working as a team on items shared on OneDrive. If the owner of the working files ever leaves SHSU, those using the shared files will lose access to the documentation. For concerns on what types of information should be encrypted, take a look at our IT@Sam Digital Encryption Policy: IT-10.

Use the instructions below to start sharing and collaborating on projects and documents today!

  1. How to View Your Shared Files in OneDrive:
    1. In your OneDrive, select Shared in the navigation.

      Visual instructions for #1

    2. When you're signed in with a work or school account, at the top of the page, select the Shared by me.

      Visual for #2 instructions

    3. Before you open the file, you can see the number of views and viewers by pointing to the file name to show the file card. As the owner of this file, you also see the list of people who viewed the file, if your administrator has allowed you to see the viewers.
      Visual for #3 Instructions

      Second Visual instructions for #3

  1. How to Manage Access or Stop Sharing File in OneDrive:
    1. To manage access or stop sharing the file or folder, select an item, and then select Manage access near the top of the page.

      Instruction visual for #1

    2. To stop sharing with everyone, near the top of the Manage Access pane, select Stop sharing.

      Visual instruction for #2

    3. To stop sharing with one person, select the dropdown list, and then select Stop sharing.

      instruction visual for #3

    4. To change the person's permissions, select the dropdown list, and then select Can View or Can Edit.