Holidays

Sam Houston State University provides paid holidays to employees to help balance work and family responsibilities. Employees may observe alternative holidays in lieu of a university holiday.

Eligibility

Benefits-eligible staff, with an FTE greater than or equal to .5, are eligible for paid holidays. Academic year faculty/academic staff, temporary employees (including students), and part-time employees who work irregular schedules are not eligible for paid holidays. Those not eligible should refer to the academic calendar for holidays.

Academic Calendar

Holiday Schedule

Below is the holiday schedule for fiscal year 2023.

Holiday Date of Observance Weekday
Labor Day September 5, 2022 Monday
Thanksgiving November 24, 2022 Thursday
Thanksgiving November 25, 2022 Friday
Winter Break December 23, 2022 Friday
Winter Break December 26, 2022 Monday
Winter Break December 27, 2022 Tuesday
Winter Break December 28, 2022 Wednesday
Winter Break December 29, 2022 Thursday
Winter Break December 30, 2022 Friday
Martin Luther King Jr. Day January 16, 2023 Monday
Memorial Day May 29, 2023 Monday
Emancipation Day June 19, 2023 Monday
Independence Day July 4, 2023 Tuesday

Energy Conservation Day

The university is officially closed for Energy Conservation Day. As such, only essential personnel report for duty. Staff should report this time as Emergency Leave on their timesheet.

Holiday Date of Observance Weekday
Energy Conservation Day March 17, 2023 Friday

Alternative Holidays

The following alternative days may be observed in lieu of a university holiday. Employees will need to discuss with their supervisor about availability of the desired date to switch.

Due to university closure during scheduled holidays, employees observing alternative days shall be charged available vacation, compensatory time or unpaid leave to account for the alternative day. The total number of holidays in a year to which an employee is entitled is not changed by use of alternative holidays.

Alternative Holiday Date of Observance Weekday
Rosh Hashanah September 26, 2022 Monday
Rosh Hashanah September 27, 2022 Tuesday
Yom Kippur October 05, 2022 Wednesday
Good Friday April 07, 2023 Friday