Piper Award Recipients

Piper Professor Program

Ten awards of $5,000 each are made annually by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation to professors for superior teaching at the college level. Selection is made on the basis of nominations submitted by each college or university in the State of Texas. Begun in 1958, with eight awards, the roster of Piper Professors includes outstanding professors from two and four-year colleges and universities, public and private.

Participation is by invitation only. To be eligible, candidates must be nominated through college/university President's Office. More information about the nomination process is available at http://www.everychanceeverytexan.org/funding/programs/ppnominationform.php.

SHSU Piper Professors:

1961: Hazel Floyd, education

1968: George Killinger, sociology

1981: Mary Frances Park, education

1984: Fisher Tull, music

1987: Ralph Pease, English

1992: Witold Lukaszewski, political science

1998: Rolando V. del Carmen, criminal justice

2004: Caroline Crimm, history

2005: Vic Sower, management

2006: James Olson, history

2011: Frank Fair, philosophy

2012: Balasundram Maniam, general business and finance

2015: Joyce McCauley, education