The rates below apply to undergraduate students who have not resided in Texas for the last consecutive 12 months. Welcome to the Lone Star State!
Disclaimer. Tuition rates may be revised by the Legislature at any time. All tuition and fees are correct as of date of print but are subject to change by action of the State Legislature or by the Board of Regents of The Texas State University System. Out-of-state tuition is calculated each year by the Coordinating Board.
These will be the same price for every undergraduate student and are charged every semester.
Advisement The advisement fee is used to fund advising, mentoring, and academic support services for students.
International Education The fee is used to assist students participating in international student exchange or study programs.
Medical The fee covers services at the University Health Center.
OneCard Service The fee will fund the existing university ID and disbursement program.
Records This fee provides funding for positions, software maintenance, and other miscellaneous expenses incurred by the Office of the Registrar.
Recreational Sports The fee is used to purchase equipment for and/or construct, operate, maintain recreational sports facilities and programs.
Student Center The fee is used to fund the Lowman Student Center programs and activities.
Flat Fee Total $374
Credit Hour Breakdown
The rate is set by the legislature for resident and nonresident students and is used for faculty and staff salaries and other educational specific expenditures.
Used to complement the funding received via state appropriations and statutory tuition: to pay for faculty and staff salary increases, new faculty and staff positions, new academic programs and other strategic initiatives, and capital improvements.
The fee supports the Intramural Program, the Student Life Support Programs, and the Extramural Programs. The fee provides admission to athletic events at SHSU under the auspices of the Department of Athletics. This fee has a fall and spring maximum of $250 and summer maximum of $125.
The fee is used for training of students, faculty and staff, and for providing support services for operation, maintenance, and replacement of computer hardware and software.
The library fee directly benefits students by supporting their classroom and research needs. The fee is used to purchase books, add electronic databases, and new journal subscriptions.
The fee supports intercollegiate athletic programs.
'19 – '20 Additional Fees
Taking any online classes?
The Distance Learning Fee of $101 per credit hour is charged in addition to tuition and mandatory fees when a course is designated as an electronically delivered (Internet) distance learning course. DISCLAIMER- Dependent upon a student’s zip code, the Recreational Sports, Lowman Student, and Health Center Fees may be waived if enrolled in all distance learning classes which are charged the $101 a credit hour.
Taking any courses with a lab?
Lab fees are charged at the rate of $8 for each course with a lab component.
Majoring in the College of Science and Engineering Technology Program?
The COSET fee will be applied every fall and spring semester of $50. This fee will fund replacement of teaching equipment, development and enhancement of innovative laboratory curriculum, annual software licenses, maintenance contracts for equipment, materials and supplies cost, operations and maintenance of field stations and facilities uses in instruction, and required field excursions.
Majoring with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing?
The Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program fee is charged at the rate of $750.00 per semester. This fee is charged to all students enrolled in the BS Nursing (BSN) degree program. The fee covers expenses for supplies, services, standardized testing and software.
Does your music class require individual instruction?
Music fees are charged for music courses that require individual instruction. These rates are charger per course.
1 semester credit hour: $30
2 semester credit hours: $60
3 semester credit hours: $75
4 semester credit hours: $75
Are you an international student?
A fee of $75 per semester charged to international students for services provided through the Office of International Programs.
Taking the same course for the third or more time?
In order to provide for loss of state funding, students attempting a course for the third or more time will be charged a statutory tuition rate up to the non-resident rate. The rate is currently $168/SCH. For more information about this fee, contact the Registrar’s Office. This fee is called the “Three Peat” Tuition fee.
Have excessive hours per your degree plan?
Texas Education Code 54.014 specifies that resident undergraduate students may be subject to a higher tuition rate for attempting excessive hours at any public institution of higher education while classified as a resident student for tuition purposes. The rate is currently $168/SCH.
Payment Plan Enrollment
A non-refundable fee of $30 is assessed to students who enroll or opt-in for enrollment into an installment payment plan.
Paid installment late?
A $25 late fee is charged for each installment payment received after the installment due date.
Attending one of more courses at the Woodlands Center?
A fee of $75 for each semester credit hour for courses taught at the University Center in The Woodlands.
Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes
The Texas Legislature and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board establish the rules and regulations for determining residence classification. Texas residency for tuition purposes is generally obtained by establishing domicile and proving residency in Texas for 12 consecutive months immediately prior to enrollment at the university or by being a dependent of a Texas resident (an individual who is claimed as a dependent for federal income tax purposes by the individual’s parent or legal guardian by the census day, usually the 12th class day, of the semester in which the student is registering and for the most recent tax year).
- the student or his/her spouse or parent is a member of the U.S. Armed Forces and their home of record is Texas;
- the student or his/her spouse or parent is employed at least half-time by an institution of higher education in Texas as a teacher or professor;
- the student or his/her spouse or parent has a teaching or research assistantship at any Texas institution of higher education on at least a half-time basis;
- the student holds a competitive scholarship awarded by Sam Houston State University of at least $1,000 for the academic year or summer; or
- the student or student’s family has been transferred to Texas by a company in keeping with the state’s Economic Development and Diversification Program.
By state law, the student has the responsibility of registering under the proper residence classification. For more information concerning the rules and regulations for determining Texas residence classification, please contact the Residence Classification Officer at 936.294.1059.