Wall of Honor 2015

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS) Wall of Honor was established by the CHSS Alumni Advisory Board to acknowledge faculty and alums who have distinguished themselves throughout their careers through personal and professional achievements and who have made significant contributions to SHSU, the students, society, and thus have brought honor and distinction to our university.

The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is pleased to announce the 2016 Wall of Honor Recipients:

Distinguished Alumni
Distinguished Faculty

The official ceremony for the Wall of Honor was held on Friday, February 27, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. in the CHSS building on the Sam Houston State University campus. A dinner honoring the recipients followed the ceremony.

CLT Head Shot 2013Mr. Christopher L. Tritico graduated from Sam Houston State University in 1983 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science. After leaving Sam Houston, Mr. Tritico went on to earn his Doctor of Jurisprudence degree at South Texas College of Law in Houston, Texas in 1988. While he attended law school, Mr. Tritico did investigative work for Richard “Racehorse” Haynes, a renowned Houston criminal defense lawyer. Leaving his associate position at Mr. Haynes’ firm in 1994, Mr. Tritico went on to found his own firm, Essmyer, Tritico & Rainey, L.L.P. Since Mr. Tritico began practicing law, he has represented such notable clients as athletes Moses Malone, Gary Sheffield, and Julio Lugo, Oklahoma City bomber Timothy McVeigh, the Houston Federation of Teachers, and the Employee Federation of North Harris Montgomery Community College District. Mr. Tritico’s notable representative cases include Sarsfield v. State (1991), Reynolds v. State (1993), and Goodie v. Houston Independent School District (2001).

Mr. Tritico has expanded his influence in the field of law beyond the courtroom by publishing several written works, including: “Teacher Contracts and the Hearing Process: The Road to Victory” (1997), “A Practical Guide to Policing Student on Student Sexual Harassments” (2000), “Real Culprit in Yates Case is the System” (2002), and “Investigative Techniques Every Lawyer Should Know.” Additionally, Mr. Tritico has appeared on Good Morning America, World News Tonight, Night Line, CBS Evening News, Meet the Press, Dateline NBC, 20/20, CNN, Fox News Channel and Court TV. Finally, Mr. Tritico is the legal analyst for FOX 26, KRIV in Houston, and the legal analyst and host of The Chris Tritico Show on News Radio 740 KTRH. His many accomplishments in the field of law are evidenced by his “Houston’s Top Lawyer for the People” title awarded by H Texas Magazine for the years 2005-2006.


Dr. Caroline Castillo Crimm graduated with her Bachelor of Arts in History from the University of Miami in 1969. After devoting the first years of her teaching career to Texas public schools, Dr. Crimm returned to school to receive her Master of Arts in Architectural Preservation from Texas Tech University in 1986, and her Doctor of Philosophy in Latin American History from the University of Texas in 1990. Dr. Crimm served first as an assistant, then associate, and finally a full professor in Sam Houston State University’s Department of History from 1992-2011. Her tenure was typified by teaching excellence, as evidenced by her many awards, which include: the SHSU Excellence in Teaching Award (1998-1999), the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation Award (2004), the LULAC Educator of the Year Award (2006), and the San Jacinto Descendants Texas Teacher of the Year Award (2010).

Beyond her incredible contributions to student success in the classroom and in life, Dr. Crimm distinguished herself as a serious scholar in the field of Mexican-American History. Her many publications culminate in her major research accomplishment: De Leόn: A Tejano Family History (2004). De Leόn was met with much acclaim, receiving such awards as: the Texas Old Missions and Forts Restoration Association book award, the Presidio La Bahia Award for the best book on Spanish Colonial Texas in 2005, and the San Antonio Conservation Society Foundation award. Since her retirement from Sam Houston State University, Dr. Crimm has expanded her repertoire to include historical fiction.

Past Wall of Honor Recipients:

2011 Wall of Honor

2012 Wall of Honor

2013 Wall of Honor

2015 Wall of Honor

2016 Wall of Honor

2017 Wall of Honor

2018 Wall of Honor