Advisory Board


The mission of the Advisory Board is to build a strong foundation of mutual support and communication between the university and the local community.

The Advisory Board will assist the Center for Community Engagement with the following goals:

  1. Promote the vision of SHSU as an "engaged" campus
  2. Cultivate and maintain strong, mutually beneficial partnerships with community organizations
  3. Identify resources for the support of the Center's community outreach initiatives

Nelson Amaya
Nelson Amaya Headshot

Walker County Unidos

Shannon Hollis
Shannon Hollis

Director of Communications
Huntsville ISD

Russell Humphrey
Russell Humphrey Headshot

City of Huntsville

Liesa Hackett
Liesa Hackett Headshot

Community Volunteer/Veteran Advocate

Dee Howard
Dee Howard Headshot

Former City Councilwoman
City of Huntsville

Todd Armstrong
Todd Armstrong Headshot

Vice President
Community Service Credit Union

Andy Brauninger
Andy Brauninger Headshot

Former Mayor
City of Huntsville

Colt Christian

Walker County

Darryle Slaven

Police Chief
City of Huntsville

Brenda Poe
Brenda Poe Headshot

The Huntsville Item

Jason Clark
Jason Clark Headshot

Director of Public Information
TX Department of Criminal Justice
About Jason Clark

Dr. Caroline Crimm
Caroline Crimm Headshot

Professor Emeritus
Sam Houston State University
About Dr. Caroline Crimm

Ray Hernandez
Ray Hernandez Headshot

Chamber of Commerce

Rosa Martinez-Readore
Rosa Martinez Readore Headshot

SHSU Professor and Retired Principal
Gibbs Pre-Kindergarten Center

Rebecca McDonald
Rebecca McDonald Headshot

Vice President
Woodforest National Bank

BJ McMichael
BJ McMichael Headshot

Pastor of Small Groups
University Heights Baptist Church

Clint McRae
Clint McRae Headshot

Walker County
About Clint McRae

Darol Hail
Darol Hail Headshot

New Waverly ISD Superintendent
New Waverly ISD

Danny Pierce
Danny Pierce Headshot

Former Judge
Walker County
About Danny Pierce

Mary Robbins
Mary Robbins Headshot

Past Vice Provost
Sam Houston State University

Scott Sheppard
Scott Sheppard Headshot

HISD Superintendent
Huntsville ISD

Dave Smith
Dave Smith Headshot

Executive Director
Good Shepherd Mission

Michelle Spencer
Michelle Spencer Headshot

Executive Director
Boys and Girls Club
About Michelle Spencer

Mac Woodward
Mac Woodward Headshot

Past Mayor, Former Museum Director
City of HuntsvilleSam Houston Museum