Our History

Beyond Business Magazine

COBA Deans

Dr. Sharmistha (Shar) Self
2022- Present
Dean Self
Dean's Welcome

Dr. Mitchell Muehsam
Dean Muehsam

Dr. R. Dean Lewis
R. Dean Lewis

Dr. James A. Gilmore
James Gilmore

Dr. Bobby K. Marks
Bobby Marks

Dr. Jean D. Neal
Jean Neal

Brief History

As Sam Houston Normal Institute grew into Sam Houston State University, what began as "a few commercial courses" in 1923 soon became the College of Business Administration.

Today, the College of Business Administration is fully accredited by AACSB International, the world's most prestigious accreditation for business schools and employs 84 full-time business faculty members, all with impressive teaching and research credentials. We enroll more than 3000 students and confers more than 500 undergraduate and graduate degrees annually in 11 different majors.

Major Milestones

1923: Commercial courses offered at Sam Houston Normal Institute

1935: Granted first Bachelor of Business degree

1937: Master of Education degree with minor in Business Administration authorized

1964: Awarded first Master of Business Administration degree

1966: Academic divisions grouped into five schools; Dr. Neal became first Dean of the School of Business Administration and Applied Arts

1972: Renamed College of Business and Applied Arts

1974: Renamed College of Business Administration

1995: Endowed Chair of Banking established and the building renamed to Smith-Hutson Business Building

1996: AACSB Accredited

1997: Started offering classes at The University Center

2004: Building Addition completed

2010: Started offering online MBA program

2012: Started offering B.B.A. General Business online