COBA Advisory Council

Council Members

The purpose of the Sam Houston State University College of Business Administration (CoBA) Advisory Council is to enable effective partnership between the business community and the College in order to ensure that:

  1. Our curriculum and programming reflects the current and future needs of the business community so that our graduates become significant contributors.
  2. Our students are exposed in meaningful ways to businesses during their course of study in the appropriate balance of theory and practice.
  3. The CoBA provides appropriate mentoring, internship opportunities and job placement opportunities for students.
  4. Our faculty remain current in their fields and have opportunities to contribute to the body of knowledge in these fields through meaningful research projects.
  5. The CoBA contributes to the competitiveness, growth and overall success of the business community.
  6. The CoBA develops funding sources to enable investment for expansion.

The CoBA Advisory Council is comprised of individuals with significant experience and expertise in a diverse set of business and professional disciplines representative of the Houston Metro Area, with a focus on the global nature of our business environment. The Advisory Council meets formally two to three times per year. In the interim, members work with the CoBA, singly or in groups, based on their individual skills and interests, to achieve the above goals.

Advisory Council Members

  • Jill S. Vaughan '82
    Chair of Council
    Senior Vice President
    Amegy Bank of Texas
  • Justin Burnett, '98
    Vice President of Materials Management & Warehousing
  • Royce Burnett '81
    KPMG Research Fellow in Accountancy
    Southern Illinois University
  • Ronny Carroll '65
    Ronny Carroll Custom Homes (ret.)
  • Gary Dudley '69
    Southwest Business Corporation
  • Walter Fitzgerald, '79
    Sr. Vice President (ret.)
    CenterPoint Energy
  • Brian Hall, '88
    Manager of Corporate Supplier Diversity and Diversity & Inclusion
    Shell Oil Company
  • Roland K. Hendricks ‘80
    Site Controller, Texas Operations
    Freeport, Houston, Deer Park, Seadrift, Texas City
    The Dow Chemical Company
  • Robert E. Hutson ‘65
    Senior Vice President
    Texas Capital Bank
  • Charles W. Jones, III '81
    National Indirect Lending Head
    SunTrust Bank
  • Ron Koska BS ‘61
    President (ret.)
    Institutional Sales Associates
  • R. Dean Lewis
    COBA Dean & Professor of Marketing
    Sam Houston State University
  • Gibson D. Lewis, '62
    Lewis Label Products
  • Michael Rohrig, '97
    Deloitte & Touche LLP
  • Chris Sower, '96
    Vice President, America & West Africa Logistics
    NALCO Champion
  • Brian Starr '02
  • Eddie Van Dyke
    Van Dyke Rankin Insurance
  • Mary M. Vitek ‘86
    Chief Executive Officer
    Girl Scouts of San Jacinto Council
  • Todd A. Zuspan ‘88
    Ernst & Young LLP
  • Charles E. Amato '70 (Inactive Status)
    Southwest Business Corporation