SHSU logo
media info
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today@Sam |  Headlines |  Calendar |  Experts  |  Notices |  Archives |  Search

Agriculture Educators Bring Home Awards

Three members of the Sam Houston State University agriculture program were honored with awards at a meeting of the National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture in June.

They are Stanley Kelly, who received a Teacher Fellow Award; Paula Siems, who received a Graduate Student Teaching Award; and Roger Hanagriff, who received the John Deere Award.

The Teacher Fellow and Graduate Student Teaching Awards recognize and reward educators and graduate students who excel as teachers in the agriculture disciplines. The John Deere Award is awarded jointly to a faculty member and his or her institution in each of the five geographic regions of the United States and Canada. The award recognizes outstanding teachers and programs with special emphasis placed on preparation of students for employment in the areas of management, sales, service, processing and production.

"I am so proud of each one of them," said Robert A. Lane, chair of the SHSU Department of Agricultural Sciences.

"The awards are a tribute to their dedication to teaching excellence in their respective disciplines. Each of them does a remarkable job, in and out of the classroom," Lane said.

S. Kelley

Kelley is an associate professor in the Department of Agricultural Sciences where he teaches a variety of animal science courses. He has hosted numerous seminars and workshops for producers and students on management practices for livestock, and he has been invited to give presentations throughout the country and internationally. He serves as coach of the SHSU Livestock Judging Team and adviser to the Beef Cattle Show Team, Block and Bridle Club, and Ag Council.

He has been selected to Who's Who Among American Men, Who's Who Among University Professors, and in 1997 he received the SHSU Excellence in Teaching Award. He was presented the American Association of State Colleges of Agriculture and Renewable Resources Outstanding Teacher Award in 1999. He maintains an active role in youth programs throughout Texas by serving as superintendent and judge for area livestock shows and judging contests.

P. Siems

Siems graduated in May with a master of science degree in agriculture. She served as a graduate assistant and assistant instructor in the Department of Agricultural Sciences teaching soil science. She has assisted with FFA Career Development events and is active in the SHSU Ag Alumni Association. She is a member of Delta Tau Alpha-National Agriculture Honor Society and the Society for Range Management.

R. Hanagriff

Hanagriff is a lecturer of agricultural business at SHSU. He has been involved with the Area IX FFA Horse Judging and Farm Business Management Career Development events, and he authored the State Young Farmer Farm Business Management Contest in 1999. He has served as a consultant with the "Nolan Ryan All Natural Tender Aged Beef" product, the Louisiana and Mississippi Departments of Corrections, Texas Department of Agriculture, and other agriculture production operations.

He and his wife, Gena, have also operated a horse training and breeding business since 1990. His horses have received several state and national awards.

The National Association of Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture is a professional society that focuses on promotion and recognition of excellence in teaching agriculture and related areas at the post secondary level in North America. Members of NACTA are from two-year and four-year colleges, public and private, and have a common bond of teaching agriculture and related subjects.

The 2001 annual conference was held at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon, Canada.

- END -

SHSU Media Contact: Julia May
July 6, 2001
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Communications Coordinator: Julia May
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834
feedback graphic