SHSU logo
media info
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today@Sam |  Headlines |  Calendar |  Experts  |  Notices |  Archives |  Search

College of Business Administration
Awards $63,750 in Scholarships

A total of 52 scholarships totaling $63,750, with 77 recipients, were awarded during the College of Business Administration's Academic Awards Program and Reception Friday.

The ceremony was held in the Smith-Hutson Business Building's Ronald P. Mafrige Auditorium. Following recognition of guests and faculty by R. Dean Lewis, dean of the College of Business Administration, each department chairperson announced the award winners.

Accounting Department winners announced by Ross Quarles included Justin Vines, Clinton Althaus Accounting Scholarship; Shauna Byrd, H. O. and LaQuita Crawford Scholarship; Mary White, Hildreth Hosea Smith Memorial Scholarship, Katie Dawson, Dr. Rita B. Huff Accounting Scholarship.

Also, Stephanie Finn, Elwood Parkhill Memorial Accounting Scholarship; Ross Pilcik, Carol Lee Sangster Accounting Scholarship; Marissa Chancellor, W. O. "Bud" Whitlock Scholarship; Jennifer Caslo, Jay Bubela, Deborah Bruno and Amy Woods, Dow Chemical SHSU Alumni Scholarships.

Also, Dusty Brossmann and Virginia Johnson, Dow Chemical Company Scholarships; Courtney Lindsey, Ernst & Young Alumni Scholarship; Kyle Grosser, James T. Hale Scholarship; Mitzi Muirhead, Leonard Keeling-KPMG Scholarship; Karen Balzi, Michael Bice, Justin Campbell, Suzanne DePugh, Ryan Hasselmeier and Chad Yarbrough, MicroMash CPA Review Course award in honor of Carol Sangster.

Also, Deborah Bruno and Chad Calkins, Petroleum Accountants Society of Houston Scholarships; Jenni Sinitiere, Texas Society of CPAs Excellence in Accounting Award and Outstanding Accounting Senior; and Heather Hope, Texas Society of CPAs Scholarship and Outstanding Accounting Junior award.

Department of Economics and International Business winners announced by William Green included Moenika Coleman and Travis Lucas, Armstrong Foundation Scholarship; Ashley Fairfield, Abiel Martinez and Eugene Morgan, Southwestern Bell Foundation Scholarship in International Business; Rhett Brewer, Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award.

Department of General Business and Finance winners announced by Leroy Ashorn included Darla Faulkner, International Association of Administrative Professionals-Houston Chapter/Dr. Rita B. Huff and Dr. Ronald D. Johnson Endowed Scholarship; James Haberman and William Starnes, Laurence L. Corley Scholarship.

Also, Rebekah Nolan, American Bank Scholarship; Claudia New, Citizens Bank of Texas Scholarship; Telly Medlin, Citizens Bank of Texas Sam Houston Alumni Scholarship; Michael Schmidt, Financial Executives Institute Scholarship; Crystal Lankford, Juanita Eikner Scholarship; James Kleckley, Michael Schmidt, Larry Sechelski, Jr., and Tracy Talas, Klein Trust Fund Banking Scholarships; Joseph Clepper, Outstanding Finance Major; Kristi Rodriguez, Outstanding General Business Administration major.

Department of Management and Marketing winners announced by Roger Abshire included Sarah Pyle, J. E. "Bo" Crews Retailing Award for Outstanding Achievement in Management and Marketing; Amy Hughes and Trinity Schlottman, James & Ludie Earl Memorial Scholarship; Pamela Sanders, Helen Cochan Gilliland Human Resource Management Scholarship.

Also, Angela Reese, Monte Pearson Award; Jonathan Birkholz and Belinda Zurovec, K. K. Lovell, Jr. Scholarships; Britton Sherry, Outstanding Management Senior Award; Trinity Schlottman, Outstanding Marketing Senior Award; Angela Coleman, Outstanding Human Resource Management Senior Award; Mark Troutt, Outstanding Management Information Systems Senior Award.

College of Business Administration winners announced by Mitchell Muehsam, associate dean, included Nancy Gonzales, Jean D. Neal Scholarship; Kristin Yanowski, Dr. and Mrs. Elliott Bowers Assistance Scholarship; Sonia Calloway, Copy Time/Annie Kelton Reynolds Achievement Scholarship; Claudia New and Somer Smith, Edward James Crawford Scholarships.

Also, Rachel Broxson, James B. & Elsie Bexley Scholarship; John Bullard, Farmers Insurance Group of Companies Scholarships; Misty Bogan, Joe M. "Butch" MacKenzie Scholarship; April Dilli, Ed and Genevieve Sandhop Endowed Scholarship; Nino Rudic and Michael Schmidt, Ed G. Sandhop Scholarship.

Also, Jessica Warren, Neva and Wesley West Scholarships; Kristi Cox Hutler and Edward Pina, Northwestern Resources Scholarships; Brian Drake and Roxanne Grahmann, Wood-Yager Scholarships; Gaurav Dalal, Kailas & Becky Rao Scholarship in Honor of Dr. Bobby K. Marks; Stephanie Walters, Kailas & Becky Rao Scholarship in Honor of Dr. Jean Neal.

- END -

SHSU Media Contact: Frank Krystyniak
April 23, 2001
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Communications Coordinator: Julia May
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834
feedback graphic