[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today@Sam |  SHSU Headlines |  Calendar |  Notices |  News Archives

Southland Football
Lists Pre-Season Picks

Three Sam Houston State University Bearkats have been named to the Southland Football League 1999 pre-season all-league team, and the team has been picked finish 7th in the tough 8-member conference.

Bearkat head coach Ron Randleman has indicated that he expects a better result, starting with the Bearkat season opener Sept. 2, but it won't be easy. The unique Thursday night home game at Bowers Stadium is against the Delta State Statesmen of Cleveland, Miss., defending champions of the NCAA Division II Gulf South Conference.

This year's Bearkats will be led by senior offensive linemen Victor McKnight (5-10, 190, Marshall) and Jonathan Braddick (6-4, 291, Plano) and junior wide receiver Matt Dominguez (6-3, 215, Georgetown), who were named to the 1999 Preseason All-Southland Football League Team selected by the SFL's eight head coaches.

McKnight has been a three-year starter for the Bearkats at center. He earned honorable mention All-SFL honors as a sophomore in 1997 and was SFL "Freshman of the Year" in 1996. Dominguez set a new Sam Houston State single season record for most pass receptions in 1998 with his 57 catches for 805 yards. Braddick is in his third year as a Bearkat starter and is a fifth-year Sam Houston State senior.

The complete 1999 Preseason All-SFL team is as follows:

QB - Blake Prejean, McNeese State
RB - Tony Taylor, Northwestern State
RB - Jessie Burton, McNeese State
WR - MATT DOMINGUEZ, Sam Houston State
WR - Joey Hamilton, Jacksonville State
TE - Pat Matthews, McNeese State
OL - VICTOR McKNIGHT, Sam Houston State
OL - Rod Cantu, McNeese State
OL - William Broussard, Northwestern State
OL - Michael Moore, Troy State
PK - Shonz LaFrenz, McNeese State

DL - Al Lucas, Troy State
DL - Calvin Nichols, Jacksonville State
DL - Tim Betts, Troy State
DL - Brian Gill, McNeese State
LB - Anthony Rabb, Troy State
LB - Jake Michel, Northwestern State
LB - Alton Murphy, Jacksonville State
CB - Eric Sloan, Troy State
CB - Darrick Vaughn, Southwest Texas
S - Tarius Davis, McNeese State
S - Mike Green, Northwestern State
P - David Latta, McNeese State
RS - Mareno Philyaw, Troy State

Troy State University, one of three Southland Football League teams selected to the 16-team NCAA Division I-AA national playoff field, is the pre-season pick of the SFL head coaches to win the league.

The McNeese State Cowboys and the Northwestern State Demons, also NCAA Division I-AA playoff teams last year, are tagged second and third, respectively.

The complete 1999 Southland Football League pre-season poll of the head coaches breaks down as follows:

1. Troy State
2. McNeese State
3. Northwestern State
4. Stephen F. Austin State
5. Jacksonville State
6. Southwest Texas State
7. Sam Houston State
8. Nicholls State

- END -

Media Contact: Paul Ridings
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu

This page maintained by SHSU's Office of Public Relations
Director: Frank Krystyniak
Communications Coordinator:Julia May
Located in the SHSU University Advancement Building
Telephone: (409) 294-1836; Fax: (409) 294-1834
feedback graphic