Faculty/Staff Service Awards 2009

(Above) SHSU President Jim Gaertner (left) recognizes Bill Green, professor of economics, for his 35 years of service to the university.


Thirty Year Service Award recipients: (from left) Terry Bilhartz, professor of history and chair, history; Ceclia Marquart, College of Criminal Justice; Frank Hoffmann, professor of library science; and Gary Roark, Lowman Student Center.


Twenty-five Year Service Award recipients (Group I): left to right (front row) - Genevieve Brown, dean, College of Education; Jacqueline Conrad, Newton Gresham Library; Terry Nixon, University Center; (back row) - Dennis Longmire, professor of criminal justice; Craig Schlicher, Distance Education; and Rick White, professor of chemistry. Not pictured: Dean Lewis, professor of marketing.


Twenty-five Year Service Award recipients (Group II): left to right (front row) - Brenda Gray, Athletics (head volleyball coach); Karen Andresky, Undergraduate Admissions; Chris Thompson, Athletics; Francis Davis, Physical Plant; Nina Cushman, Computer Services; (back row) - Janis Lawrence, Sam Houston Press; Norma O'Bannon, Travel; Lex Presley, Physical Plant; Dave Smith, Physcial Plant; Edgar Smith, Administrative Accounting.


Twenty Year Service Award recipients (faculty): left to right (front row) - Diane Dowdey, associate professor of English; Darci Hill, associate professor of English; Kay Raymond, associate professor of Spanish; Janis White, assistant professor of fashion merchandising and design and chair, Family and Consumer Sciences; Chris Wilson, professor of psychology and chair, psychology; (back row) - Roger Abshire, professor of marketing and chair, management and marketing; Steven Cuvelier, associate professor of criminal justice; Patric Lawler, associate professor of art; Gary Oden, professor of kinesiology.


Twenty Year Service Award recipients (staff): left to right (front row) - Charlann Morris, College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Anita Shipman, Small Business Development Center; Joellen Tipton, Residence Life; Paul Ridings, Athletics; (back row) - David Epps, College of Criminal Justice; Charles McDowell, Sam Houston Press; Mike Yargo, Physical Plant; Jeff Vienneau, Residence Life; Keith Jenkins, Student Services.


2009 Staff Excellence Award recipients (from left):  Randi Clower, College of Education; Susan Hayes, College of Education; Evelyn Hasouris-Turner, College of Humanities and Social Sciences.

—Photos by Brian Blalock


- END -

SHSU Media Contacts: Julia May
August 31, 2009
Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu




This page maintained by SHSU's Communications Office
Director: Bruce Erickson
Assistant Director: Julia May
Writer: Jennifer Gauntt
Located in the 115 Administration Building
Telephone: 936.294.1836; Fax: 936.294.1834

Please send comments, corrections, news tips to Today@Sam.edu.



SHSU 'In the News'


Brian Domitrovic, assistant professor of history, appeared on Book TV (C-SPAN) May 1-2, speaking about his recent book "Econoclasts: The Rebels Sparked the Supply Side Revolution and Restored American Prosperity" (www.econoclasts.net).


Houston Chronicle education writer Jeannie Kever recently turned to Regents Professor of English Paul Ruffin for his views on university presses moving toward "digital books" as opposed to traditional ink-on-paper."We're fulfilling the ancient role of the university press, and that is to produce books," said Paul Ruffin, the Texas poet laureate for 2009 and director of the Texas Review Press at Sam Houston State University. "I don't want to give up the book because it is an art."


Faculty/Staff Birthdays


Monday, May 3

Debbie Birdwell


Tuesday, May 4

Rhonda Callaway

David Gaines

James Walker


Staff Council Spotlights


Jennifer Davis

Sonya Ramirez

Molly Doughtie

Sam Houston State University Sam Houston State UniversityA Member of The Texas State University System

"The measure of a Life is its Service."