Tech Tip: Beware of the Zoom Co-Host Switchover

A Zoom co-host is designated by the meeting host to assist with managing participants or starting a meeting when needed. Additionally, in the event an emergency, the co-host can run the meeting in your place without technical difficulty. Sounds great right? 

BUT…

Let’s say, during a meeting, the host is making the closing statement and the co-host has to leave the session in a rush so they push the pretty red button that should say this: Screen Shot 2020-08-05 at 4.10.44 PM 11.00.57 AM but actually says this: Screen Shot 2020-08-05 at 4.06.08 PM 11.00.57 AM. Turns out, the co-host unintentionally ends the session for EVERYONE. 🤯

Now for the good news!

There are three options to ensure this does not happen to you:

  1. Check your title once everyone has joined the meeting, then immediately reclaim the "host" position, if necessary. 
  2. Reassign the "Host" position during the meeting.
  3. Be sure you select this plain gray button: Screen Shot 2020-08-05 at 4.05.57 PM if you need to leave a meeting early or assign a new host. Use the below tutorials to assist you with these options!
  • Option 1 – Reclaim Host Position
    1. Once everyone has joined the meeting, select "Participants" at the bottom of the screen and check your title in the “Participants” window 

      Screen Shot 2020-08-26 at 8.14.21 AM      Co-Host
    1. Select “More” at the bottom of the “Participants” window, the select “Reclaim Host”
       

      Reclaim Host


    2. Check your title in the “Participants” window to ensure that this change is complete

      Host_1
  • Option 2 - Reassign "Host" during the meeting:
    1. To assign a host when leaving a meeting, select “Participants”  

      Screen Shot 2020-08-26 at 8.14.21 AM
    1. Hover over the name of the person you want to designate as the Host and select “More”

      More_Blurred
    2. Then select “Make Host”

      Make Host_1_Blurred

    3. Verify the change took place 

      Host_3
    1. Leave the meeting by selecting “Leave Meeting”

      Screen Shot 2020-08-05 at 4.10.44 PM 11.00.57 AM
  • Option 3 - Assign a Host upon leaving a meeting:
    1. To leave a meeting early as a host, without ending it for everyone, select “End”

      End
    1. If you have a Co-host, you can assign a new host by selecting the Co-host to take your place and selecting "Assign and Leave"

      Set Co-Host to leave copy

    2. If you do not have a Co-host and do not need to designate one, select “Leave Meeting”

      Leave MTG_Blue