

Faculty Senate Minutes Sam Houston State University May 6, 2004

Members present: David Bailey, Chris Baldwin, James Carter, Steven Cuvelier, Mary Lynn DeShazo, Stacey Edmonson, Mark Frank, Mary Gutermuth, Marsha Harman, Lady Jane Hickey, Gerald Kohers, S. Thomas Kordinak, Paul Loeffler, Tamara Waggener, Debra Price, Gary Smith, Kandi Tayebi, Christopher White, Patricia Williams

Member absent: Deborah Hatton (professional conflict), David Henderson (professional conflict), Penny Hasekoester (professional conflict), Joe Kirk (professional conflict), Holly Miller (professional conflict), Valerie Muehsam (professional conflict), Tamara Waggener (illness)

Approval of Minutes

Emendations for the minutes of April 29th were approved.

Committee Reports

Academic Affairs

Chair Loeffler

- Summarized his conversation with System's Attorney Fernando Gomez regarding post-tenure review.
- Requested suggestions for a questionnaire related to retention, mid-term grades, and feedback to students. [After a lengthy discussion, a majority of the Senate voted to consider a one-item questionnaire to ascertain what percentage of faculty in each college provide an assignment that is graded and returned to students before mid-term.]
- Provided a written resolution in response to the Texas Faculty Association Alert to faculty. [A majority of the Senate voted for the following response:

University Faculty Senate believes that it is important to respond to the May 3, 2004, TFA-Faculty Advisory. The TFA advisory misstates the facts and the statements of Faculty Senate.

]

University Affairs

- Senator Carter presented preliminary recommendations regarding the teaching evaluation instrument to be adopted at SHSU. A final recommendation will be made at a specially called meeting on Thursday, May 13th.
- The Senate voted unanimously to accept the Faculty Travel Funds report and recommendations.

Committee on Committees

Senator Kohers distributed Faculty Senate Survey results by rank.

Chair's Report

Chair Tayebi provided information from the Budget Committee regarding next fiscal year's budget. Areas discussed included Optional Retirement Program contributions from the State, insurance effective first day of employment, travel funds, and cost-of-living salary increases.

Old Business

The Senate reviewed the following accomplishments throughout the past year.

Senate Accomplishments 2003-2004

Priorities in September, 2003, were listed as

- Post-Tenure Review
- FES System
- Grievance Policy
- Graduate Faculty Status
- Summer Pay
- Academic Affairs Committee submitted a report which was accepted making recommendations about post-tenure review
- © After reviewing IDEA and ETS teaching evaluation systems, the Senate made a recommendation to Provost Payne
- © A revised Faculty Grievance Policy was passed by the Senate and is now in the Provost's office.
- © Graduate Faculty Status was discussed and clarified by Dean of Graduate Studies and Associate Vice President Mitchell Muehsam.
- At the budget committee meeting on Tuesday, May 4, Mr. Jack Parker provided a letter from President Gaertner regarding summer school funding. Summer school will be budgeted each year. This money may be used to pay adjunct or pool faculty to cover additional classes but will be reimbursed each fall.

Other accomplishments throughout the year:

- ✓ Recommended and achieved increased awards for Excellence in Teaching, Research & Service.
- ✓ Recommended and achieved lessening amount of time for drop-and-add each semester and requiring instructor approval for admission into a class between drop-and-add period and 12th-class day.
- \checkmark The Senate was instrumental in gaining revisions to the Academic Indicators.
- ✓ Parking recommendations included hanging tags rather than decals and the removal of university vehicles from white-tag lots.
- ✓ Provost Payne proposed a rule-of-thumb for number of publications to gain tenure as one per year.
- ✓ Reallocated senators for the newly created College of Humanities and Social Sciences.
- ✓ Recommended and achieved the reestablishment of the Women's Advisory Council.
- Recommended a pilot program of work-study opportunities for transfer students to support recruitment efforts.
- ✓ Hosted representatives from Association of American University Professors (AAUP), Texas Association of College Teachers (TACT), and Texas Faculty Association (TFA).
- ✓ Recommended changes to faculty travel procedures and allocation of funds
- ✓ Recommended a mediation exchange program with other universities in The Texas State University System to provide mediation for grievances when requested.
- ✓ Encouraged a return rate of over 53% for the annual Faculty Senate Survey.
- ✓ Recommended and achieved that the Faculty Research Funds retain the term *research* in the title and that they be distributed by the Research Council.
- ✓ Joined with the Staff Council in a collaborative effort.

- ✓ Hosted President Gaertner, Provost Payne, Dean of Graduate Studies and Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs Mitch Muehsam, Interim Dean Terry Thibodeauz, Dr. David Burris, and various honor societies to speak on a variety of issues.
- ✓ Recommended against a faculty tribunal to resolve faculty-on-faculty grievances.
- ✓ Collaborated with Faculty Developmental Leave Committee to make recommendations regarding the policy.
- ✓ Expressed that departmental rankings were released on perceptions rather than empirical evidence.
- ✓ Recommended minor changes but supported an APC proposal to count remedial class grades in a student's grade point average.
- ✓ Appointed a Strategic Planning Committee for Research Support to advise the SHSU Research Council.
- ✓ Recommended that the antidiscrimination policy include sexual orientation as a protected class.
- ✓ Revised Faculty Senate Survey to gather data on faculty morale.
- ✓ Established leadership awards for Outstanding Chair and Outstanding Administrator

New Business

The floor was opened to accept nominations for the leadership awards for Outstanding Chair and Outstanding Administrator.

Respectfully submitted,

Marsha Harman, Chair-Elect