FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY April 26, 2007

Chair Philip Morris called the meeting to order at 3:33 p.m.

Members Present: Tracy Bilsing; Doug Constance; Jerry Dowling ; Bill Edgington; Stacey Edmonson; Mark Frank; Mary Gutermuth; Debbi Hatton; Rosanne Keathley; Gerald Kohers; Paul Loeffler; Brian Loft; Bill Lutterschmidt; Philip Morris; John Newbold; Debra Price; Yan Zhang.

Members Absent: Peggy DeMers; Jim DeShaw; Yasser Djazaerly; Joan Hudson; Renee James; Ann Jerabek; Tracy Steele; Jay Whatley.

Approval of Minutes:

The minutes of the April 12, 2007 meeting were approved.

Chair Report:

Chair Philip Morris called the meeting to order.

- There was no APC meeting
- Election results and new senators were announced. Elected to A&S were: Bill Jasper, Paul Loeffler, Peggy DeMers, Brian Oetiker and Emmette Jackson, COBA Gerald Kohers, COE Stacey Edmonson, H&SS Robert Bruce.
- Tamara Waggener will replace Mary Gutermuth who is retiring.

Chair Award Nominations and Elections:

• Several nominations were received by Chair Elect Price by email during the weeks prior to the meeting. Elections for Outstanding Chair and Administrator were help. These individuals will be recognized in the fall.

Old Business:

• Faculty Leave Policy:

The following conclusion was reached regarding the Faculty Leave Policy and will be forwarded to APC: If a departmental colleague requires an extended leave from the classroom, a faculty member may volunteer, but will not be expected to assume the duties of teaching up to one additional class per semester. Compensation for teaching the course would take the form of monetary compensation, a course reduction in a subsequent semester, credit for service or other forms of compensation. The faculty member should negotiate the nature of the compensation with the chair. The nature of the compensation should be approved by the dean of the college. Monetary compensation will be calculated using the daily wage of the faculty member assuming the instructional duty.

• ORP:

The following recommendation was approved and forwarded to APC: In light of increasing standards for promotion and tenure, plus, to assist Sam Houston State

University in hiring and retaining top tier faculty as it pursues a path to becoming a Carnegie I Institution, the Faculty Senate proposes that Sam Houston State University adopt the following practice regarding funding Optional Retirement Plans.

Beginning fall 2007 faculty, regardless of their initial date of hire, eligible to participate in the Optional Retirement Plan will receive compensation at an equal rate of 8.5%.

New Business:

• No new business was discussed.

Committee Reports

Committee on Committees

Committee nominations were approved.

We will investigate having charges to committees come from The Senate at the beginning of each year.

Faculty Senate Survey is done and will be shared once all data has been analyzed.

• University Affairs

No report

• Faculty Affairs

Faculty leave report discussed above.

• Academic Affairs

No need for policy dealing with credit for experiences. Existing policies already cover this.

Senate Input:

• Some faulty reported that Deans were assigning Q's after faculty members and chairs had denied them. And some reported that Deans of one college were helping students from a different college drop classes after the date. This topic will be addressed by Academic Affairs in the fall.

The Faculty Senate adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Debbie Price, Chair-Elect.