Raven Scholars

Raven Scholars

Raven Scholars is an award program dedicated to honoring outstanding upperclassmen and graduate students at Sam Houston State University. The purpose of the Raven Scholars program is to recognize our top students who have achieved academic success as well as integrated campus life, service, and leadership into their college career. An annual award banquet will be held each spring to distinguish these exemplary students.

For a student to be eligible for Raven Scholars, he or she

  • Must be nominated by a University faculty, or staff
  • Must have a SHSU GPA of 3.00 or higher
  • Must be currently enrolled for at least 12 hours at SHSU
  • Must be classified as at least a Junior standing by the beginning of the semester nominations are conducted
  • Transfer students must have at least 2 long semesters at SHSU for a total of 30 semester hours
  • Graduate students must have an undergraduate degree from SHSU or have completed 18 hours at SHSU and be presently enrolled for 9 hours (an  exception should be made for assistant instructors who are teaching a full load of 6 hours and enrolled in 6 hours)

2021 Raven Scholars

Brittany Acquaviva

Kyra Aftosmes

Arturo Aguero-Colon

Julissa Alvarez

Melissa Angulo

Amanda Anway

Carolyn Bienvenu

Grace Boland

Kenneth Bounds

Kenna Bounds

Laurel Burrer

Emily Cabana

Breanne Chausse

Jillian Choquette

Tristin Chudej

Kyle Cockerham

Haley Coker

Evangelina Covarrubias

Michael Crass

Vivian Dang

Morgan Daughters

Sabrina Davis

Megan DeBrabander

Angelica Devera

Keeley Dunnam

Alondra Duran

Dajone' Durham

Joshua Ferrell

Dominick Fierro

Sheena Fitzgerald

Amy Fitzsimmons

Morgan Forsyth

Katia Funes

Ruben Garzoria

Alexis Gilbert

Abagayle Gillaspy

Lucia Gonzalez

Eduwade Gonzalez

Danielle Gray

Joseph Green

Erin Griffin

Cayla Hari

Zachary Harston

Caitlyn Hejl

Bea Katrina Hernandez

Alyssa Honer

Shohei Iwahama

Carolyn Jess

Mackenzie Johnson

Zahna Johnson

Genesis Juarez

Kyler Kelley

Jessica Key

Katherine Linn

Matthias Litzmann

Nhien Tuoc Luong

Y Luong

Clara Lusby

Bree Maldonado

Megan Mason

Makayla Mcilhaney

Mitch Melendez

Teryn Moore

Zachery Moquin

Doreen Muthee

Carter Nelson

Peyton Nichols

Joshua Oliva

Francisco Pena Cardenas

Ruth Ponce

Trevor Roquemore

Ileana Sanchez

Morgan Sandlin

Victoria Sandoval

Lance Sebesta

Nikki Sechler

Laura Shelby

Shannon Simmons

Rashad Simmons

Charlotte Spencer

Robert Suttie

Ariana Swafford

Taylor Swearingen

Emiliano Tirado Tirado

Victor Tran

Diana Vargas

Katie Vaughn

Karen Villegas Guio

Emily Warren

Michael Way

Eric Webster

Ivana Wedel

Anna Weikel

Matthew Williams

Ilexus Williams

Bill Woodburn

Makayla Woods

Gwendolyn Wright

Caitlin Yates

Tao Zhou

Committee Members

Division of Finance and Operations Kyle Hess Associate Director, Facilities Planning & Construction
College of Business Administration Karen Sherrill Assistant Professor of Finance 
College of Criminal Justice Willard Oliver Professor, Criminal Justice
Division of Student Affairs Danielle Sirles Licensed Psychologist & Group/Workshop Cordinator
College of Osteopathic Medicine Candace Walkley Assistant Professor, Primary Care
Division of University Advancement Justin Haynes Assistant Director for Alumni Clubs & Const. Programs
College of Health Sciences Amanda Scarbrough Associate Professor, Department of Population Health
Athletics Trevor Thorn Assistant Athletic Director, Certification & Compliance
College of Humanities and Social Sciences Amy Dean Lecturer, Early Modern France and Europe, History of Women
Division of Enrollment Management Angie Taylor Executive Director of Admissions & Recruitment
College of Arts and Media Wojciech Lorenc Associate Professor of Mass Communication

For more information about the Raven Scholars Program, please contact the Office of Student Engagement & Retention.

Email: engage@shsu.edu

Phone: (936) 294-2714