General University Policy
The possession and consumption of alcoholic beverages on any property owned and/ or controlled by Sam Houston State University are prohibited except where permitted explicitly by published policies. The legal age for the purchase, consumption and/or possession of alcoholic beverages in the state of Texas is 21. Violators of this state law and university policy will be subject to university penalties and criminal charges.
Students who are 21 years of age or older may be permitted to have alcoholic beverages in their residence hall rooms, but not in common areas of residence halls as specified in other published alcoholic beverages policies.
The sale or service of alcoholic beverages on the campus of Sam Houston State University is not permitted except in "special use" buildings or facilities designated and approved by the university president.
Sponsoring organizations of events where alcoholic beverages are to be served in special use buildings or other designated facilities are required to complete a "Alcoholic Beverage Service Request" Form. The completed form will authorize the service of alcoholic beverages in conjunction with a scheduled special event. The form requires the approval signature of several university administrators including the university president; therefore, the request should be initiated at least fifteen (15) business days in advance of the event.
SHSU Alcoholic Beverage Distribution Policy
A permit to serve alcoholic beverages on the campus of Sam Houston State University is a privilege granted to recognized groups. Failing to adhere to university regulations may result in the denial of future permits.
- A permit DOES NOT
Give the sponsoring organization the right to sell alcoholic beverages. Selling includes, but is not limited to the following:
- The price of beverages being included in the admission price.
- The price of beverage being included in the food ticket. Only existing licensed catering services on the Sam Houston State University campus can sell alcoholic beverages.
- Give the sponsor the right to purchase beverages at a discount.
- Give the sponsor the right to the space for the event. Space and facilities for the event must be reserved with the specific facilities manager through the normal university procedures.
- Once a permit is granted, the organization is responsible for obeying all university, Student 41 Guidelines state, city, and federal laws governing the distribution and consumption of alcoholic beverages.
- The legal age for drinking in Texas is 21. Giving alcoholic beverages to a minor can result in a fine of $500 plus university disciplinary action. A minor producing false identification to secure alcoholic beverages carries a fine of $25 to $500 plus disciplinary action.
- At all events where alcoholic beverages are distributed, there must be a sign clearly stating that individuals under 21 years of age are not permitted to drink the alcoholic beverages being distributed.
- At all events where alcoholic beverages are distributed, a check must be made for age.
- Non-alcoholic beverages must be available in equally attractive variety to the alcoholic beverage and must be displayed in equal prominence as the alcoholic beverage. Also, if the alcoholic beverage is free, all other beverages must be free.
- The amount of alcoholic beverages at an event is to be relative to the number of guests attending the function.
- Food items must be available in sufficient amounts for the number of persons attending the function.
- It is required that all advertisement note the availability of non-alcoholic beverages and food, as prominently as alcohol. If alcohol is to be advertised, it may not be the main emphasis of the notice.
- Questions regarding the distribution of alcoholic beverages should be directed to the Dean of Students’ Office, Suite 215 in the LSC, (936) 294-1785.